The Grass is Always Greener.

Image

Next Textured Cotton Chinos – $33 ~ Camden Skinny Jean – $75 ~ Linen Trousers – $82.50

“Being tall is an advantage, especially in business. People will always remember you. And if you’re in a crowd, you’ll always have some clean air to breathe.” Julia Child.

Being tall certainly has it’s advantages – being able to see over people’s heads at concerts, reaching items on high shelves at the supermarket, and not feeling claustrophobic in crowds. It also has disadvantages, namely for me when it comes to buying trousers, pants, jeans and track pants. Having the bottom of a pant flapping around (or above!) your ankle when it is not designed to be there is not a good look. 

I am 5 feet 10 and a bit inches tall in the old scale, or 178 centimetres in the new. Not overly tall by basketball team standards, but I happen to possess a long pair of legs. Ordinarily this would be a good thing, especially if I wished to wear shorts all year round, but my home gets a little chilly in the Winter. 

As a teenager, my school uniform consisted of a rather fetching pair of grey and yellow tartan pants. While I was not sad that these did not come in a long leg length, by the time I reached my senior years and could wear plain trousers I was forced to resort to buying a pair of grey men’s pants that made me resemble the Saggy Baggy Elephant with my child baring hips and no bum. And they were still too short. 

Internet shopping was only just bursting onto the scene during the late 90’s and early 00’s. The online options for tall women were scarce, and let’s face it, pretty unfashionable. I delighted in a trip to the UK when I discovered that several of their shops actually had whole sections for tall people – did tall people only exist outside Australia? It may seem that this is still so.

After I had my big wardrobe clean out I only had two pairs of jeans that fitted. On a quest for work pants I visited several big chain stores at my local shopping centre and could not find one single pair of pants long enough. Even Target, whom I usually love, and boast a ‘tall’ range, fail to come through and leave me with cold ankles.  

Whilst I really prefer to try things on in a physical shop to make sure the fit is okay (and because I love instant gratification and walking out of a shop bag in hand), I have decided that my wardrobe re-build is going to need to venture online. Part of my plan is to only buy items that fit. Be gone, too short trousers!

In my online travels so far I have found these little gems. I will definitely be placing orders soon. 

Long Tall Sally – A UK based company with physical stores in the United Kingdom, Germany, Canada and the US, Long Tall Sally has a fantastic range of fashionable clothing in a variety of lengths. If you fancy a 38″ inseam, this is the place for you! They have $10 flat rate shipping to Australia, and pants come in lengths of 34, 36 and 38 inches. While they have no plans to open a store in Australia in the near future, they assure me that they’re constantly committed to improving customer service to us Aussies. I can’t wait to try them out for myself.

Tall By Design – Hailing from across the ditch in New Zealand, Tall By Design also has a wide range of clothes. Their stock is a little limited at present, however they appear to be getting a delivery of new stock in April. Their average inseam length seems to be approximately 37″. They have a sliding scale for deliver to Australia, with one item costing $10, two items $15 and three or more items $20. 

Next Direct – Next Direct is British store Next’s website to service Australia. They have free delivery on all orders – get clicking! Their trousers and jeans probably wouldn’t suit very tall or long legged women, as the inseams are only between 33 and 35″. I still think they would be worth a try, and they have a large range to choose from. 

Ezibuy – Home shopping institution Ezibuy has a limited amount of tall items available. Many of them are from Next, and may be a good alternative if you can’t find them on the Next website. They charge $9.90 for standard delivery, or $14.95 for a priority service. 

Not being able to find clothes that fit properly when shopping can be so frustrating. Many a time I have left the shopping centre disheartened, which annoys me and my husband, who thinks it puts me in a bad mood for the remainder of the day. I’m feeling a lot more optimistic after my online window shop, and can’t wait to purchase some new goodies.

If you have trouble finding clothes to fit a certain body part or type and would like some help, please email me at styleunearthed@gmail.com. Over the coming months I will be featuring items of clothing and specific stores or brands that are designed to suit specific body types. I would love to hear from you!

Do you struggle to find clothing that fits your body? Are you tall like me? Please share your tips, shops or commiserations in the comments below.

 

8 thoughts on “The Grass is Always Greener.

  1. I’d never really thought about this dilemma. Being on the shorter end of the spectrum my worry was always if the pants were too long! Thank goodness for online shopping so you have some solutions now! Fi xx

  2. Hi Sarah,
    You are looking absolutely gorgeous and I am so happy to see you blogging 🙂 If you are going to look at items of clothing that are notoriously difficult to fit, can you look at decent, reasonably priced shirts and bras for bigger busted women? I’m a D – DD, size 12 – 14 and getting a shirt that doesn’t gape at the bust is almost impossible. I don’t have a fortune in the clothes budget either so I’m not going to pay more than $50 for a shirt unless it’s an absolute miracle product.
    Good luck with the blog, I’ll be checking in xx

  3. I’ve been NEXT buying recently too, not just for myself but for my little lady. I’m loving skinny jeans right now!!! I’m going the skinny pants and oversized tops this winter!

  4. Pingback: The Curse of the 5’10 Woman | Style Unearthed

  5. Pingback: The Curse of the 5 Foot 10 Woman | Style Unearthed

Leave a Reply

