Beauty Unearthed – Natio BB Cream

Image

 

‘The most beautiful makeup of a woman is passion. But cosmetics are easier to buy.’ 

Yves Saint-Laurent

BB Creams have recently exploded onto the make up scene, with most popular cosmetic houses touting their answer to this miracle cream. I have always been a fan of tinted moisturisers, and I was therefore excited to try this new product.

So, just what is a BB Cream? BB stands for beauty or blemish balm. Writer from The Guardian UK Anita Bhagwandas describes the cream as a neat little package of skincare, costmetic coverage with the added bonus of SPF. Like tinted moisturisers, BB Creams provide a coverage however it is smoother, thicker and contains light reflecting properties. Bhagwandas tells me this is to make the wearer appear more youthful – hopefully it’s working for me!

The first tube of BB Cream I used was from a popular international make up brand that I picked up in my local supermarket. While I enjoyed using it, I found it a little on the thin side. It provided coverage like my previous tinted moisturiser, but had a little more sheen. When using it with concealer it provided good coverage of blemishes. 

I was excited to see that Australian brand Natio had released a BB Cream also. I’ve long been a fan of Natio, and love the fact that their products are primarily plant based and cruelty free. The cream comes in three shades – fair, medium and tan. I chose the fair variety, as I have pasty English skin and it was a very good fit. It has an SPF rating of 15. The cream is thick without smothering my skin, and is easily applied. It covers blemishes (that I wish I didn’t have – who has pimples at almost 30!) smoothly, and leaves my face looking clear. Having two small children, I often sport bags or dark circles under my eyes. On a good day, the cream takes care of them, and on a bad I can always add a little concealer. 

After my little trial I can now call myself a BB Cream convert. It is a fantastic alternative to foundation, especially on those days when you just need to get out the door and don’t want to wear full make up. I believe that I will stick with the Natio product for the time being, unless something else comes my way. It is available at pharmacies and department stores nationwide, along with the Natio website, and retails at $14.99.

* Please note that I was not asked to trial either product that I used. I purchased my own tubes of BB cream, and simply wanted to share a product that I enjoyed using.

 

9 thoughts on “Beauty Unearthed – Natio BB Cream

  1. Thanks for the tip Sarah! I’ve been using a bb cream that’s also quite thin. Will give the Natio a try as I already use and love their Liquid Mineral Foundation and their ‘Glow’ face cream. Loving all of your posts too btw 🙂 xo

    • Thank you Erin 🙂 I hope you like the cream too. I’m looking forward to trying more of their make up products too, especially after your recommendation. And thank you for your kind comments xx

  2. I’m a huge fan of BB creams, I’ve been using the Garnier version ever since my youngest was born to hide the signs of sleep deprivation. (& with 2 young boys a BB cream was perfect, i didn’t have time for full make up application)

  3. Pingback: Easy Morning Beauty Routine | Style Unearthed

Leave a Reply

