From Runway to Wardrobe – Chanel

12-13 Runway 2

Image source

‘ A girl should be two things: classy, and fabulous.’ Coco Chanel

Gabrielle ‘Coco’ Chanel was born in France in 1883. By 1910 she had opened her first shop, selling hats to the women of Paris. Her designs quickly became highly sought after and she firmly cemented her place as a style icon. As a brand, Chanel has become famous for the little black dress, fine fragrance and their classic suit. Their logo is instantly recognisable, and to me, the designs ooze style and class. Karl Lagerfeld has been Creative Director of the brand since 1983, and has continued Coco Chanel’s brilliant legacy.

In ‘Runway to Wardobe’ posts, I will choose a particular designer and an outfit from their latest runway show. I will research (so you don’t have to!) and find similar outfit options for those of us that are unable to afford designer pieces but still want to look and feel great. Where I can, I will source outfits locally so they can be easily bought in store or online.

I chose Chanel as my first Runway to Wardrobe as I have always been interested in Coco herself, the brand and their design aesthetic. The Autumn/Winter 13 ready to wear collection showcased heavy jackets, knits, fitted pants, metallics and the jewel tones we will see frequently this season. The designs were coupled with severe hair styles and bold eyebrows. Gorgeous Chanel handbags, sunglasses and jewellery accompanied the clothes down the runway.

The pictures below have been split into jackets, pants, skirts and shoes. Obviously they are not identical to the Chanel offerings, however I hope they will give you some inspiration. Perhaps they will inspire you to step outside your comfort zone a little, and try on something you wouldn’t normally. I know they have for me.

Image

 1. Forever New Marnie boucle biker jacket. 2. Cooper Street Constantine Coat from Myer.

3. Seduce Eskimo Style Coat. 4. Long Tall Sally Textured Knitted Jacket.

Chanel Runway-Real Shoes - Page 002

1. Portmans A-Line Boucle Skirt. 2. Portmans Boucle A-Line Skirt. 3. Portmans Windowpane Check Skirt.

Portmans really came through for this post! They are offering lots of great skirts and pants this season in a variety of styles and different shades of grey and silver, from metallic to matte. No matter where else I looked, I kept coming back to the Portmans website. It is one of my favourite Australian high street stores – I can usually go there and find reasonably priced garments that fit well. I’m not normally a leggings girl, but the Seamless Crop Leggings in silver would look quite cute under one of the skirts pictured, and also save a little modesty.

Chanel Runway-Real Pants - Page 003

Pants. 1. Portmans Brocade Pant. 2. Portmans Seamless Crop Leggings.

Chanel Runway-Real Shoes - Page 004

Shoes. 1. ASOS Promote Pointed High Heels with T-Bar. 2. Wittner Blume Heels. 3. Diana Ferrari Darcey Heel.

I hope you’ve enjoyed Style Unearthed’s first ‘From Runway to Wardrobe’ post. I certainly enjoyed researching and finding items to show you.

Do you have a designer that you admire? Are there any designers that you would like Style Unearthed to showcase in ‘From Runway to Wardrobe’?

6 thoughts on “From Runway to Wardrobe – Chanel

  1. Thanks Michelle. The Darcey shoe is nice, and I love that the heel is not too high. I’m not sure about the pants under short skirts either – it’s a trend I’ve never been able to feel comfortable with. Maybe one day!

Leave a Reply

