Well, well, wellies!

 

Image

Image Source

Did you love jumping through puddles as a child? I remember getting dressed in my rain coat and shiny gumboots and splashing through the street. The good news is that the kids don’t have to have all the fun! We’ve had a few rainy days in Sydney, and one of my readers asked me to put together a post about different gumboots available for adults. Here are my top five picks.

1. Hunter Original Tall Classic

Image

 

Can you see yourself strolling through the English countryside wearing a pair of these babies? The Hunter boots are classic, and would bring a serious amount of style to your gardening (or puddle splashing) wardrobe. They would even be perfect to tuck jeans in to, to avoid wet legs at school pick up time. Available in a wide range of colours and styles, these wellies would be my first choice if I had an unlimited budget. They are available from The Iconic for $165.

2. Riding Union Gumboot (Pipduck Australia)

Image

 

Pipduck Australia and designer Helen Duckham have become a leading designer of rainwear, with 75 styles in the 2012 collection. I particularly loved these Union Jack boots, as a nod to my English heritage. Pipduck has a huge range of boots, including some that look like proper knee high boots (for classy puddle jumping). You can find them at Pipduck Australia for $139.

3. Target

Image

 

Target have a decent range of rain boots in cute patterns, and a variety of lengths (knee high and ankle). Not only are they cute, but they’re also sold at the great Target price point. Affordable. You can check out your local store to see their range, or have a look online here. These particular boots retail for $30. 

4. Willow Tall Wellington boots – Rosie Roo

Image

 

I loved the fresh pattern of these wellies from Rosie Roo. They feature a cotton lining which I would imagine would keep your feet nice and cool. Rosie Roo’s aim is to provide high quality footwear at a competitive price. I love their fresh, bright pattern – they just look happy – and that buckle is very cute. You can find them here for $89.95. 

5. Gully Black – Spend-less Shoes

Image

 

For those readers who favour a more classic style, these Gully Black boots from Spend-less Shoes may appeal to you. They are a slightly shorter boot in a black patent look finish. They are a bargain at $19.95. They are available here.

I was so pleased to find a wide variety of adult rain boots during my research. We had a tree-change almost two years ago and I’m in the market for some wellies for backyard exploring and soggy walks. I went looking for some cute boots last year, to no avail. Walking around with wet shoes is not an appealing feeling, so I know I need to invest in some good quality gumboots. Now I have no shortage of options.

Do you own a pair of gumboots? Will you be buying some this season? Which boots are your favourites?

 

9 thoughts on “Well, well, wellies!

  1. I love the red ones! and i don’t currently own red boots so could be a winner.
    Do you know if there’s a physical store that stocks them so i could try them on first?

  2. I desperately want a pair of gumboots for winter this year! I’ve seen that Pipduck brand online before, I love their floral designs, so pretty! Hmm maybe I can get matching mother-daughter boots LOL
    Loving your blog! xx

  3. Oh I love Wellies! I once taught in a school so muddy, most teachers wore them all day long! Mine had jelly beans all over them (classy!)

Leave a Reply

