Wardrobe Revamp 101

Image

Wouldn’t this be nice? 

Image Source

Since my clothing clean out, I have been mentally planning my new wardrobe. Reading magazines, cruising Pinterest and virtual window shopping on my favourite stores’ websites have all given me inspiration. Truth be told I am a little overwhelmed. I’m saving money, selling clothes that don’t fit anymore, and hoping to win Lotto (without a ticket, I might add). I am one to normally get a little apprehensive when making a big purchase, so it is to be expected that I am procrastinating over this one, especially as it will be out there for everyone to see.

I’ve been trawling through ‘wardrobe essential’ lists again, but keep coming back to one person’s advice – one Mr Tim Gunn. I’ve loved Tim ever since he appeared on Project Runway. He was always a fair and measured mentor, and looked well put together himself. Based on his list, I will share the wardrobe essentials I will be investing in, and over the next few weeks I’m sure you will see me pinning my favourite pieces like a mad woman over here. Here are the 10 items that every woman should buy, according to Tim Gunn.

1. The Little Black Dress (LBD).

I have a few LBD’s – one for dressing up, one for dressing down, and one for Winter. I do like them and have fun styling them with colourful accessories. The Winter dress is my favourite – colourful scarves, cardigans and my favourite pair of knee high black boots make an outfit I feel both comfortable and well put together in. 

2. The Trench Coat.

While I love the classic Burberry trench, my bank balance does not. I found a bargain trench at Rivers of all places a few years ago. It has the added advantage of not making me look like Inspector Gadget, as well as keeping me warm on playground duty and while playing the role of soccer wife. This jacket ticks the box of my new rule – it is actually a really nice piece, and from somewhere I don’t normally shop. 

3. Classic Dress Pants.

This is something I will need to work on. As previously mentioned, I am on the taller side of people who like to buy pants (everyone!). More often than not, they don’t fit. I have decided that instead of dragging myself around 100 different shops and getting annoyed because nothing fits, I will bite the bullet and order from Long Tall Sally. I am nervous about buying something like pants online, but I will make sure I measure myself very carefully and get the closest fit. Tim believes that the pants should fall from the widest part of your hip, and are best in black, charcoal, navy or chocolate.

4. The Versatile Skirt.

My most versatile skirt in my current wardrobe is a black pencil skirt. I love it, and it fits like a glove. It can be styled in various ways, and I always feel great when I wear it. I would like to find a skirt with some personality, possibly with a pattern.

5. The Fitted Blazer.

This is on my must-buy list. I’ve found one I loved that I spoke about previously. I’ve decided that I will purchase it in black, so it can be worn with a variety of things. I love seeing blazers paired with jeans, skirts and worn over dresses. It is definitely a versatile piece of clothing, and I have a feeling mine will become a wardrobe work horse. 

6. Classic White Shirt.

I always see the classic white collared shirt on wardrobe ‘must have’ lists, and I must admit that I remain a little dubious. I just don’t know if it is for me – it always seems grown up. I suppose at almost 30 I should bite the bullet and give it a try. They do look great with jeans and a blazer for the weekend, and pairing the look with a colourful scarf certainly adds personality. 

7. The Day Dress.

Tim recommends a classic wrap dress, as favoured by Diane Von Furstenberg, a shift dress, or a shirt dress. I love all three. They are comfortable, feminine, and when they fit well will make you feel great. My favourite shirt dress is now too big, so I will definitely be on the lookout for another come Spring time.

8. Cashmere Sweater.

While I don’t think my budget will run to cashmere, the cuts of the sweater are important. Tim recommends a cardigan, v-neck or turtlenecks. I will be favouring camel, black or jewel tones for Winter. 

9. Perfect Fit Jeans.

This is a woman’s life-long quest, don’t you think? Tim suggests trying a dark wash as that is the most flattering, and making sure they fit your hips, not your waist. There are so many styles of jeans out there – my novice advice would be to try on lots of pairs and see what suits you. 

10. The Alternative to the Sweat Suit.

Apparently, it isn’t fashionable to wear a track suit (even to the gym!). Tim Gunn recommends finding a comfortable outfit as an alternative that you can wear when running errands in town, walking the dog, or picking the kids up from school. There are so many affordable options for fashionable exercise wear now – Michelle Bridges has just released a range for Big W, and my favourite gym outfit was bought at Cotton On Body. 

Other notable essentials include scarves, jewellery, shoes and bags.

Options are the key. Mixing statement pieces with wardrobe basics will help lift your outfit. I love pairing a silk scarf with a plain outfit, or throwing on my favourite pair of brightly coloured shoes. It makes my outfit a little more interesting, but more importantly makes me feel good.

I am looking forward to tackling the task of planning my new wardrobe. I’m drawing advice from lots of sources (it is a very good excuse to buy magazines!). Hopefully this list will help you if you are planning to re-vamp your clothes. It has certainly been an inspiration to me.

How do you plan your wardrobe or a big shopping spree? Do you favour trends or more classic pieces? Do you have a style icon?

4 thoughts on “Wardrobe Revamp 101

  1. i’ve never been one to plan my wardrobe, i’ve just bought pieces as i’ve needed them but i’ve been thinking about my wardrobe & purchases a lot more in the last 6 months. I’ve been replacing items as the budget (or need) allows for updates.

  2. Pingback: 10 Wardrobe Essentials from the Past Year | As Time Goes...Buy

  3. Pingback: French Classics You Need in Your wardrobe | lechicfrenchstyle

Leave a Reply

