Beauty Unearthed – How-to Model Makeup with Maybelline

Image

 

Image Source

 

I am self confessed makeup novice. Sure, I experimented with lipsticks and glittery eye shadow as a teenager, but I’ve never had much of an idea of what I am doing. The best thing would be to have a professional makeup artist (and hair dresser, while we’re at it) on speed dial, to get me out of the house each morning. Who wouldn’t love that? My makeup routine is basic at best, with some BB cream, mascara and a slick of gloss during the day. If I’m going out at night I will add some eye liner and lipstick. 

In my interview with Maybelline NY Australia’s makeup director Nigel Stanislaus, he spoke to us about Maybelline’s how-to makeup videos that would be posted during Fashion Week. These are fantastic step-by-step videos that show you exactly how to apply makeup for a fresh new look using some accessible products available at your local supermarket or department store. 

My favourite video for a night time look is from the We Are Handsome runway show from Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Australia. Maybelline and We Are Handsome recently collaborated on three lipstick shades that you will be able to see in the video, including Shocking Coral. There are some gorgeous colour options, and after seeing the Coral in the video I will definitely be trying it. 

The other feature of the Maybelline website that I love is the How To Lesson Explorer. It is perfect for a makeup newbie like me, and I will definitely be experimenting with the videos to improve my look. It is broken into helpful categories to help you find the features you would like to enhance, and for which occasions. The best part is that you can choose the level of difficulty for the application – need to get out the door for a night out in 15 minutes? Select the easy level, watch, and learn. 

Image

 

Over the next few months I am looking forward to expanding my makeup collection and experimenting with new looks. I will be sure to share them with you!

What is your makeup style? Do you have a signature look? Is there anything you would like to learn about makeup?

Leave a Reply

