The Wardrobe Re-Design Part One – Tops

With lots of excitement, and some procrastination, the time has come to start planning my new wardrobe. I’ve had other things requiring my more immediate attention, so have been doing lots of window shopping and filing ideas for later. I decided that I needed to knuckle down and do some serious sartorial research. My old wardrobe was a mish-mash of items like didn’t really gel. This time, I am determined for find items that work together and can be worn with a variety of items for a variety of occasions. I do like keeping clothes that are specifically for work, but being a mum five days out of seven means that I would like my wardrobe to be comfortable as well as stylish.

As I was perusing websites for inspiration, I found I was choosing similar styles (wraps, tunics, collars). This has definitely given me an idea of what I like. I would prefer to buy pieces that will last for more than one season, that I will be able to add to and alter with accessories. They’re from high street shops, with the exception of the Long Tall Sally item, which can be ordered online. Hopefully I will find some time this weekend to try some on and see how they look in person. As I’ve said before, pinning items to your Pinterest page is a great way to keep track of your lust-have garments. It will link to the item, and you can even add the price in the description for easy access. 

Below are some of the tops that I found. They range from purely casual, to smart casual options that I could wear to work. Prior to this re-design, the majority of my tops have been on the casual and plain side. I’m excited to have the opportunity to mix things up a bit!

Image

Basic Scoop Tee – Target

First up is a basic scoop neck, long sleeved tee from Target. These come in a huge range of colours, and are fantastic during Winter for layering. They’re cheap too, but good quality, so you can afford to buy a few of your favourite colours! While I said I was steering away from the basic, these are so handy to have, and can add a pop of colour to a casual outfit.

Image

Serena Tunic – Forever New

I’ve never experimented with tunic tops (other than maternity wear), and I’m looking forward to trying on this piece. It should pair nicely with leggings or opaque tights, and long boots. 

Image

Knitted Wrap Top – Long Tall Sally

This would definitely be a top I could wear to work, or on the weekend. I love wrap tops – they’re a flattering cut on my body. Layer with a singlet for modesty, and wear with jeans or black pants.

Image

Crepe Blouse – Dotti

Dotti have some really nice tops for Autumn and Winter. They have quite a wide range of t-shirts, knits and more tailored offerings. This blouse could be worn to work tucked into a pencil skirt, or out over a pair of pants. It comes in a wide range of colours.

Image

Laney checked shirt – Forever New

Having Scottish heritage has resulted in me being a bit of a sucker for tartan. While I haven’t seen anything official on trends-to-watch lists, collared shirts with rolled up sleeves in tartan prints seem quite popular in high street stores. My favourite is the Laney from Forever New. I liked the colour, and could imagine wearing this on a trip to the park with some jeans and Converse. 

Image

Sasha Shirt – Dotti

This second shirt from Dotti is one of my favourites. Again, it comes in a range of colours. I can imagine it could become a work wardrobe workhorse. I like the way it has been styled in the above picture, with the neck buttoned all the way and a statement necklace worn over the top. Something a little out of the ordinary, just as I am looking for.

I’m looking forward to trying on the tops I have shared, and hopefully some might even suit me. I will be sure to let you know!

in other news… This afternoon, I booked a session with a stylist. The best thing about this session is that it is free! Lots of local shopping centres offer this service – make sure you contact the service desk of your favourite, or have a look at their website. I will get an hour of her time, and I am hoping she will help me put together some stylish looks that suit my lifestyle. I will definitely blog about the experience, so keep an eye out in the next couple of weeks.

Do you have a favourite style of shirt? Are you open to trying new things, or do you know what suits you and stick to it?

Leave a Reply

