Walking a Mile – Autumn and Winter Shoe Trends

Image

1. Diana Ferrari Hanae Boot 2. Sambag Tina Tan Plain Leather Ballet Flat 

3. Nine West OneDay Sequin Flat 4. Walnut Melbourne Penny Loafer 

5. Robyn by Spurr Chelsea Boot 6. Diana Ferrari Zula Boot 7. Belvedere by Therapy

The weather is cooling down, and I am looking forward to dusting off my favourite pairs of boots, loafers and flats. I thought now would be a good time to take a look at the footwear trends for this season. Shall we go shopping?

Knee high boots – These are a personal favourite of mine, and a style classic. Easily worn over skinny jeans, jeggings, leggings or with skirts, knee high boots are incredibly versatile (and warm!). I own a pair of Diana Ferrari Percy riding boots I purchased three years ago in black, and I have my eye on a chocolate pair this season. They will pair very nicely with denim and a tan handbag for a casual, weekend look. (A hot tip – if you’re looking for some knee length boots but worried about the price, Aldi have black and brown pairs of riding style boots on sale from Saturday for $50. $50!!!!! I think I will be lining up with the die-hard bargain shoppers at opening time to snag my size).

The classic ballet flat – As a tall woman, I rejoiced when ballet flats came into fashion. Now they’re everywhere, and in so many varied styles. I particularly loved this classic tan pair from Sambag, but chain stores such as Target and Rubi offer a wide choice of colours. Being such good value, you can almost afford to buy a pair in every hue! The sequinned pair of flats is a fun play on a classic trend. All black is a popular look this season, so adding a little sparkle will create a point of interest on your outfit. 

Loafers – Another footwear classic that will hopefully never date, simply because they are so comfortable! My loafers are my Winter shoe of choice for work because they’re as comfy as my slippers, but look great. I love to wear them with skinny jeans and a blazer for a polished look.

Ankle Boots – Short boots are going to be huge this Autumn and Winter. They’re in shoe shops as far as the eye can see, in a range of styles and fabrics to suit everybody’s tastes. The boots featured above include a more traditional look with suede in one of the jewelled colours that are so popular this season. Make sure you spray your suede boots with a protective spray before wearing them out – you don’t want your brand new purchase to be ruined in the Winter rain. The second pair are a little bit punk – leather and studs are everywhere this winter. If you feel like toughening up your wardrobe a little, give them a try!

Booties – My favourite pair of shoes are cut-away booties from Diana Ferrari. I don’t often wear heels, but these make me feel fantastic and after wearing them to a recent wedding I discovered that they’re also incredibly comfortable! Pair them with a fabulous frock, dress pants or jeans, and strut your stuff! The pair featured above also lend themselves to the punk and leather trend, without being so out there. A perfect way to ease yourself in!

Hopefully I will be able to share a fresh pair of boots with you this weekend. I’m looking forward to treating myself after the ordeal of last week! Just quietly, I think I might deserve it…

Do you have a favourite pair of Winter shoes or boots? Will you be investing in any new footwear this season?

4 thoughts on “Walking a Mile – Autumn and Winter Shoe Trends

  1. I love the flat riding boot style too! I have just bought a pair of flat ankle boots and am looking forward to trying to work out a way to wear them!

    • You’ll have fun with them, Kelly! They’re so versatile – try them tucked into skinny jeans, under pants or even with a skirt/tunic and tights. Let me know how you decide to style them!

Leave a Reply

