Favourites Unearthed

Favourites Unearthed will be a regular little series I have decided to put together each week, to share some of my favourite finds. Since beginning my blog I have been scouring magazines for inspiration, trying products to share with you, and doing lots of window shopping (a tough job, but someone’s got to do it!). If I wrote a blog post about every little thing, I would be writing all day, so this series will be the easiest way to bring these favourite things of mine, to you!

Image

Diana Ferrari Loulou Boot

I picked these little babies up yesterday in Diana Ferrari’s 30% off sale (be quick – it finishes tonight!). I have been on the look out for some black ankle boots, and thought I would buy flat ones. These Loulou boots have a small, stacked heel, but they are incredibly comfortable. They’re made from 100% suede leather, and are lined with satin. They zip at the side, and feel nice and firm on my foot. They come in sizes 5 to 12. I’m normally a 9.5 in Diana Ferrari shoes, but the 10 fitted well and I can wear them with warm socks or thick stockings for Winter. Ankle boots are great, because when worn with leggings or skinny jeans they appear to lengthen your leg – instant growth spurt! Make sure that you spray suede shoes or boots with a water proofing spray prior to wearing them – it will make the water bead off, and protect the shoe. 

Image

Natio Pure Mineral Foundation

I purchased this Natio Pure Mineral Foundation about a month ago in the Priceline 40% off sale. Foundation is something I only wear if I am going out, as BB Cream provides enough coverage for me on a day to day basis. After being sick for a few weeks, the opportunity to go out for dinner finally presented itself and I could finally try my new acquisition. When I interviewed Maybelline NY Makeup Director Nigel Stanislaus, he suggested smoothing foundation on with your fingers, as the heat helps it to blend into the skin. This was a great way to apply it, and it went on very easily. The foundation felt very light on my skin, and I didn’t experience that heavy feeling I have had in the past with some liquid foundations. It contains vitamins C and E, along with other natural ingredients like jojoba. It had a very light fragrance, and I am looking forward to using it again. It comes in six shades, and I chose the best one for me by rubbing it into the inside of my wrist. The colour that blended best, and looked the most natural, was the one for me.

Image

Anti-Aging Booster Dilo Oil *

I am currently trialing some Pure Fiji facial solutions products, as part of my role as Pure Fiji Australia’s brand ambassador. I will be reviewing them in the coming weeks once I’ve given them a good test, but I wanted to post about this little gem early. Pure Fiji’s Dilo rescue has been featured on the blog before, but this product is much more intensive. It is cold pressed oil from the Dilo tree, and contains anti aging properties that promote skin cell regeneration. My skin is quite dry, and I have recently had a few very dry patches on my face. A pea-sized drop of the Anti-Aging Booster, applied before my night cream, has been working wonders. The beauty of Dilo oil is It’s soothing quality, so doesn’t sting when applied. I have always been a little skeptical of anti-aging products, but I think that my forehead actually seems smoother after using it for about 10 days. 

Image

Instagram is a wonderful invention, isn’t it? I joined a couple of years ago, and enjoy sharing photos with my friends and family. Style Unearthed is now on Instagram! You can follow along to see extra pictures, products I’ve found, outfits I’m wearing and blog posts that have been uploaded. You can find me @styleunearthed. I follow lots of magazines, fashion brands and interesting people, and thought I would share a few of them with you in case you’re looking for some new people to follow:

  • Nikki, from Styling You for fashion, beauty and lifestyle tips.
  • Rachel from Redcliffe Style for relaxed coastal living, and great style inspiration.
  • Dee from Mama Stylista – the most stylish mum I know!
  • Kim-Marie from Kimba Likes for family, fashion and frivolity.
  • Belinda from B Being Cool for life, food, family and travel.
  • Fi from My Mummy Daze for beautiful beach shots and family fun.
  • Long Tall Sally (@longtallsallyclothing) for style tips for us tall people! 
  • Renegade Collective magazine (@collectivehub) – my new favourite magazine full of inspiring articles.

Image

Cadbury Rocky Road chocolate

Does this even need any explanation? It’s coming up to report time at my school, and chocolate is relied on heavily by more than a few of us (even more reason for me to heal faster and head back to the gym!). Our staff room has been full of fundraising chocolates now the Winter sports season has commenced, and I can normally be strong around them. However, a row or two of this current favourite for dessert has become a bit of weakness! I’m normally a plain chocolate girl, but it’s something about the jelly, marshmallows and nuts that’s got me hooked. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed the first edition of Favourites Unearthed – be sure to check back next week and see what’s made the list!

 

* Please note that I was gifted this product for review as part of my role as Pure Fiji Australia’s brand ambassador.

 

Leave a Reply

