Winter Warmers

Jackets - Page 001

 

1. ASOS Zip Detail Mac 2. Country Road Military Jacket 3. Forever New Double Breasted Coat

4. Ben Sherman Melton Overcoat  5. Wayne Cooper Cape 6. Design Studio Trench

The weather has cooled down here in Sydney. The red and golden leaves have almost left the trees, and Winter has arrived with vengeance, almost as though a switch was flipped overnight. I am a July baby, and have always loved the cooler weather. The feeling of snuggling inside a warm coat, complete with scarf, gloves and hat is one I live for at this time of year. I get plenty of opportunity to do this, with the combination of playground duty on weekdays and sitting on the sidelines playing the dutiful soccer wife on weekends.  A good coat is a Winter essential, especially in the lower eastern states of Australia. I have several – a classic trench, black pea coat and casual duffle coat with a hood – that are all on high rotation.

Having several different coats means that you have more outfit options. Several of the new tops I bought this season are longer, which means I can’t wear them with my short pea coat. I also like having colour options, but keep my coats in colours like beige, caramel and black as they can be worn with more outfits. I would love to buy a red coat like the one above, though!

Coat Buying Tips

– There are many fabric options when choosing a coat, including cashmere, wool blends, and acrylics. Make sure you read the care instructions before you buy. If you’re like me, you will want something that is hard wearing and easy to care for.

– When trying on a coat or jacket, make sure that it fits you nicely on the shoulders and that you can easily move your arms. There is nothing worse than being restricted. Remember that you may be wearing several layers underneath, so allow for a bit of extra room.

– A good quality coat will last you for many seasons. I still have my first good Winter coat that I bought for an overseas trip over 10 years ago. If you are buying a piece with versatility and longevity in mind, neutral colours such as black or camel are best, in a classic style. You will get the most wear out of your jacket this way, as the style is less likely to date.

– If you’re in the market for a casual jacket, don’t discount surf and skate shops. Many surf brands also make ski wear, and you can pick up some great quality clothes for the cooler weather. My duffle coat is a surf brand, and is incredibly warm.

– If you’re not in a rush to buy a coat, consider waiting until the end of the season to pick up a bargain. Many stores will clear their Winter stock, and will heavily discount items. This is a good tip to remember if you are lucky enough to be heading to the Northern Hemisphere for their Winter. If you like shopping online, check out stores from the United Kingdom and United States that ship to Australia at the end of their Winter (the start of our Autumn) for big savings.

Do you have a work horse Winter coat? What features do you like in a coat or jacket? What kind of coat are you rocking this Winter?

2 thoughts on “Winter Warmers

  1. It looks great around here! I love what you have done with the place!

    If you say ‘Ben Sherman’ I am there! I love the classic, hip, cool styles they have… I must pull out my Ben Sherman trench. In fact, I am going to do that NOW!

    Great post lovely!

Leave a Reply

