Wardrobe Re-design – Outfit Inspiration

Top One Top Two - Page 003

Top One – Free Fusion stripe top $12. Top Two – Sheer Peter Pan Collar shirt $23.

As part of my wardrobe re-design I have been on the look out for tops. I was in Target a few weeks ago and found two sheer tops suitable for work and play. I decided to think about them and not purchase straight away, which turned out to be a great decision as they’re now 40% off! The colour initially drew me to the turquoise top above, and I’m a sucker for a Peter Pan collar. The other sheer top is black and white with a fresh chevron print. The striped top above also made it’s way home with me. At $12, how could I possibly leave it on the shelf?

I decided to have a play with the above tops. The stripey top was the base piece for a casual weekend outfit, and the turquoise shirt became the feature of a dressy outfit suitable for work.

Stripe shirt outfit - Page 001

Jeans West slim straight jeans in mid indigo $49.99 (currently on sale) – Sambag Tina black plain leather ballet flats $175 – Forever New Harper Day Bag $59.99 – DKNY Sunglasses $74.98 @Sunglass Hut (currently on sale) – Lovisa Black Petal Facet ring $14.99

This is a very casual outfit, perfect for a BBQ, pub lunch or wander around the shops. The top is listed as an oatmeal and navy combination, but looks more like pale pink and black in person which is why I chose to pair it with black accessories. I usually like to keep my accessories simple, and really liked the Lovisa ring to make a bit of a statement. Cats eye sunglasses are my favourite shape at the moment, and I liked the subtle shape of these DKNY’s. I currently have a prescription Alex Perry pair, along with some cheapies from Cotton On. The Harper Day Bag has been on my lust-have list for a couple of months. I think I will bite the bullet and buy it before it sells out, or hint heavily before my birthday next month! It comes with handles so you can carry it in your hand or over your arm, and a strap that can be attached to carry it over your shoulder. I love the tassel detail on the front. Black flats and straight leg jeans complete the laid back look. Jeans West currently have all jeans on sale for $49.99 – I will be checking out their options on Saturday!

Turquoise shirt outfit - Page 002

Living Doll pencil skirt @Bombo Beach Clothing Co $35 – Dune Akon mid heel court shoe @ASOS $108.65 – ‘Desert Night’ earrings @ArtHappens on etsy $32.45

This top can be worn in so many different ways – with jeans and a blazer for a weekend look, paired with black pants, or tucked into a pencil skirt. Adding a mid-height heel would make it a perfect work outfit. A blazer could be added to keep the Winter chill at bay. I loved the earrings – the turquoise matched the hue of the shirt perfectly, and the gold ties them to the hardware on the bag (ever so slightly!) The bag and sunglasses from the previous outfit would work with this one as well. I loved that this top could be worn in so many ways – I knew that I would definitely get my money’s worth. The collar can easily be unbuttoned to work it back for a more casual look.

I am looking forward to dressing up my new tops, and will share photos of the completed outfits when I do. Now if only I could get my hands on that bag…

Have you been shopping recently? What did you buy? Do you put outfits together virtually, or do you play dress up in your real wardrobe?

9 thoughts on “Wardrobe Re-design – Outfit Inspiration

  1. Wow, love that shirt! It is lovely, I might just go and check out it out. Both your outfits look fantastic and what a great idea to virtually work out your outfits. Nothing really new lately except a “fake” leather skirt (which I promise doesn’t look too fake) from Dotti on sale. Oh yeah … and a little haul from Zara when I was in Hong Kong a couple of weeks ago.

      • It is a good idea – I might try that with a few things in my wardrobe that I am struggling to work out what to do with. The prices weren’t too bad – a little bit cheaper but it was nice to be able to look in Zara. Some of their stuff is not me but their more classic stuff was really nice. And I meant to say too – you should definitely shout yourself that bag or leave very clear directions for birthday purchasing!! It is gorgeous.

  2. Pingback: Your Professional Wardrobe [Women's Edition] | GenTwenty

  3. I always play dress ups! It’s called “getting dressed in the morning”.

    I have just bought a faux leather ponte panel skirt from Decjuba – they were out of stock but I managed to find one at The Iconic and I had a $10 email voucher. One little skirt on the way to me for $60. Bargain!

    Yesterday, I worked at Mint Condition Vintage Boutique in Rozelle and bought a fabulous 70s inspired Queenspark fitted maxi yesterday. Ooops, just remembered. Also bought a maxi skirt from Birdsnest on Friday. Got a bit of a thing for maxi skirts at the moment!

    • I think playing dress ups is one of the best parts of being a girl! I loved the Queenspark maxi that you showed on Instagram – so many styling options. Can’t wait to see your skirt from Decjuba! Maxi skirts are fantastic – I lived in one when I was pregnant last time and still wear it now. So comfy.

      Thanks re the aqua shirt 🙂 It had it’s first outing on Friday night with a blazer and skinnies. Was a bit worried that it was too 1980’s power suit, but my husband assured me it looked okay! Will take pics next time.

  4. Pingback: Your Professional Wardrobe [Women's Edition] | GenTwenty

Leave a Reply

