Favourites Unearthed

Favourites Unearthed - Page 001

These are a few of my favourite things… (Image Source)

It has been a busy week in the Style Unearthed house – children, work, house work, blogging (and the change over to my new site – there are a few new grey hairs!), family events. There has also been room for some fun, in the form of a dinner and movie date with Mr Style Unearthed last night. This brings me to my first favourite.

The Great Gatsby

Image Source

I love, love, loved this movie. I have always been a big fan of Baz Luhrmann’s movies. Strictly Ballroom is the first ‘grown up’ movie I saw as a child and fell in love with the movement, the music and the colour. Having never read The Great Gatsby, I didn’t have any idea what to expect. I have had the book on my iPad and also a hard copy sitting on the book shelf but hadn’t made time to read them. In some ways, I’m glad I went into the cinema with no expectations. I loved everything about this movie – everything just worked so well together. Catherine Martin’s costumes were beautiful, the Tiffany and Co jewellery was absolutely stunning, and the modern music in a 1920’s style was very clever. We saw the movie in 3D and that was an experience in itself. Other than Monsters’ Inc, I hadn’t seen a 3D movie. This did not disappoint, and I think I may just be a convert. If only they would make more stylish glasses!

Harpers Bazaar Scarf

Image Source

Who doesn’t love a good gift with purchase? This month’s Harper’s Bazaar comes with a choice of two scarves from Australian designers Ginger and Smart. It was difficult deciding between the blue hued beauty above, or the black and white patterned option. I can understand why people were heading to the shops to buy a second copy! It has been a long time since I read Harper’s, so I’m looking forward to dipping into the pages over the weekend.

Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

Image Source

I spied this shampoo and conditioner in Aldi’s catalogue a few months ago. I assumed it may be a regular product, but couldn’t find any when I went to look. Luckily, it came into stock a few weeks ago and I picked up a couple of bottles. At $4.99 per bottle, it was a steal compared to other similar products! I hadn’t used Moroccan oil before, but had heard very good reviews. I like the shampoo and conditioner – it seems to control fly away hairs, and makes it smooth. I certainly don’t look like the woman in the picture above, but I’m happy with the results.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

Image Source

This is an oldie, but a goodie. Maybelline New York’s Nigel Stanislaus sang the praises of mascara in my interview with him. It makes your eyes appear wider, and can also be used to create interesting looks with super long lashes. It’s no wonder that this is one of the best I have tried. I first started using this mascara as a teenager, and have experimented with other brands but always seem to come back to Maybelline. Certain brands upset my eyes, but I’ve always found this one great. It has good coverage, and the brand has a wide variety of colours and effects. It’s widely available in supermarkets and chemists, at a great price point.

Diet Coke

Image Source

This little baby has been responsible for keeping me awake for the majority of the week! I don’t drink tea or coffee, so other than lots of water, this is my drink of choice. I have been burning the candle at both ends, and when coupled with a teething baby with an ear infection, it makes for a tired Sarah. Thanks to Diet Coke for making my favourite treat readily available!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend, whether you have a long one like me, or just regular sized. I also apologise to Julie Andrews for defacing the above picture – it gave my husband a good laugh!

What are your current favourite things? Do you have brands or products that you swear by?

* Favourites Unearthed is a fortnightly series in which I show case some of my favourite fashion, beauty, health and home products. If you would like your product to be considered for editorial, please email me on styleunearthed@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

