Food Unearthed – Slow Cooker Vegetable Curry

Curry in Bowl

A cold, rainy Winter day was the perfect excuse to bring the slow cooker out of the cupboard. Wednesday means a gym session for me, and grocery shopping for Mr Style Unearthed and the small ones, which really means not much time for dinner preparation. I decided to unleash my inner Martha Stewart (it doesn’t happen often!) and prep a dinner of vegetable and chickpea curry at lunch time.  Normally dinner is cooked during the arsenic hour rush. This recipe was full of vegetables, and super easy to make. It also made the house smell delicious. I stuck to the recipe quite closely as this was the first time I had made it, but you could use up any vegetables that you had left in the fridge, and play around if you felt more confident.

Squash

Ingredients 

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (I didn’t use this, but should have as I burnt the pot – chef I am not)
  • 1 large brown onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed (I used just under a table spoon of fresh garlic from a tube)
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder (I used a little under one tablespoon – I don’t like spicy food, and it was also being served to the littles)
  • 3 teaspoons ground cumin (I omitted this as I didn’t have any)
  • 800g can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced (equates to two tablespoons)
  • 300g can chickpeas, drained, rinsed
  • 150g orange sweet potato, peeled, diced
  • 1 large carrot, peeled, diced
  • 1 small red capsicum, diced
  • 250g cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 100g button mushrooms, halved
  • 4 small yellow squash, halved
  • 250g broccoli, cut into florets
  • steamed jasmine rice and natural yoghurt, to serve (I omitted the yoghurt as the biggest small one has a dairy allergy).

I used sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, yellow squash, broccoli, cauliflower and chickpeas as that is what I had in the fridge. They softened beautifully, and were full of flavour.

Curry

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion. Cook, stirring often, for 2 to 3 minutes or until onion is soft. Add garlic, curry powder and cumin. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute or until aromatic.
  2. Stir in tomatoes. Simmer for 3 minutes or until sauce thickens. Add 1/2 cup cold water, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, chickpeas and vegetables. Increase heat to high. Bring to the boil.
  3. Spoon curry into slow cooker. Cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hours or LOW for 6 hours. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon curry over rice. Serve with yoghurt.

As I said before, this was super easy to make and didn’t take much time at all. I stirred it in the slow cooker every now and again to make sure the veggies were cooking evenly.

I served it over Jasmine rice, and you could also add papadums or Naan if you wished. The whole family cleared their plates, including the 20 month old. It was definitely a hit, and I’m sure it will feature on our meal plan a few more times before the Winter is out. If you would like to road test this recipe, you can find it here.

Do you have any surprise dinner hits in your house? What are some of your favourite recipes?

* I hope you liked the first Health Unearthed recipe. I will feature delicious recipes as I make them, but I must warn you that I’m of the ‘quick and simple’ dinner camp! I’m also vegetarian, so most recipes will be sans meat.

7 thoughts on “Food Unearthed – Slow Cooker Vegetable Curry

  1. That looks good! I may even be able to get hubby to eat more veggies with something like this! Though I may have to add some chicken for him

  2. Pingback: maillot de foot pas cher

  3. Pingback: Beef and Vegetable Curry | Life:Kitt

Leave a Reply

