Favourites Unearthed

Favourites Unearthed - Page 001

How has your weekend been? We started with lots of plans, but they came to a halt last night with two sick kids. Temperatures, rashes and a bout of conjunctivitis to boot, right in time for the start of the school holidays! We’ll bunker down tomorrow on the last expected day of rainy Sydney weather – I am looking forward to some sunshine later in the week, and getting my washing dry.

I have discovered a few new bits and pieces during the past couple of weeks I thought I would share with you.

L’Oreal Preference Hair Colour

IMG_0019

The day after I used this colour I put a picture up on Instagram with the caption ‘It’s a big call but I think this may be the best at-home hair colour I have ever used’. It was incredibly easy to apply – there were no drips in my bathroom. The colour comes with a little tube of oil to add, which makes your hair extra shiny. The conditioner bottle has enough for six weekly treatments, and left my hair incredibly soft. So far, the colour is standing up well and my greys and perfectly disguised. I am dubious as to whether it will last eight weeks in my hair, as I normally have to re-colour it after about four, but I will let you know how it goes. An added bonus was that it also smelt quite good – I wasn’t left with the chemical smell in my hair for the days until I washed it again. At only $13 (on special) it was a definitely winner.

MacBook Pro

MacBook Pro

Image Source

I have fallen in love with this little baby since getting it two weeks ago. I have always been a PC girl, but have gradually transitioning to all things Apple with my iPad and iPhone. Using a PC at work, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to have a different system at home, but I am so glad to have switched. I love the Mac. Being able to bluetooth my photos from my iPhone straight to the computer is so handy, and the fact that all my contacts are backed up makes me very happy. I feel like I have only touched the surface of what my new toy can do, and I am definitely looking forward to playing with it more during the holidays.

Natio Rich Colour Creme Gloss

Natio Lip Gloss

Image Source

I stumbled across this lovely lip colour in the Natio stand at my local pharmacy. My chemist has a great loyalty scheme, and every few months I find a $10 voucher in my mail box. Instead of keeping it for medicines or other boring bits and pieces I decided to treat myself to a little present.

 Serene Lip Colour

The colour I chose was Serene, which I picked as much for the name as I did the colour. While the above is the sample colour from the Natio website, it is a little more pink in real life. It’s a gorgeous colour which matches my natural lip colour. It is very glossy, but not drying at all. It lasted very well, and I only had to reapply it once or twice during the day. At $15.95 they’re very affordable, and like all other Natio products they are not tested on animals. Which colour shall I try next?

Kikki K Ballpoint Pens

Kikki K Pen

Image Source

I am a massive stationery nerd. One of the highlights of my first full time job was being in charge of ordering the stationery (and making sure I always spell it correctly after the first email I sent out requested everyone’s ‘stationary’ orders). Kikki K is one of my happy places. The staff of my local store know me now, and I could spend many a happy hour browsing in there. Their ballpoint pens are my favourites – they write smoothly and feel so comfortable in my hand. They also come in a wide range of cute designs, and they’re only $4.95 – what more could a stationery nerd want? I’m looking forward to next weekend when I will be attending my first Kikki K workshop. I will let you know all about it next Monday. If you’re very quick, Kikki K has 25% off store wide until midnight tonight (Sunday 30 June).

What did you get up to this weekend? What are your current favourite things?

2 thoughts on “Favourites Unearthed

  1. I have fallen in love with Shellac polish. I dislike acrylic nails and yet being a mum and always busy with my hands I chip nail polish within about 2 seconds of painting my nails. Shellac is a little bit of ‘me’ time lately that I am loving.

Leave a Reply

