What I Wore – Winter Night Out

IMG_0042

Big W Navy Polka Dot Dress (not available online). You can find a similar dress hereherehere / /Diana Ferrari ankle boots – you can find a similar style hereherehere and here.

How was your weekend? We had a busy one, but it was lots of fun catching up with friends and family. On Saturday night we attended a trivia night fundraiser. I love a good trivia night. It’s a good excuse to use the usually useless information that I have stored in my brain. I’m good at remembering random facts, and they certainly come in handy during trivia! We ended up coming third which we were very happy with, and had a fantastic night laughing with friends.

I decided to use the occasion of going out at night sans kids to dress up a little. It’s still very chilly in my part of the world, especially at night, so I needed to make sure I wouldn’t freeze. Big W are currently having a big end of season sale, and I picked up this little navy polkadot number for $10.50. It’s not lined, so I probably wouldn’t wear it without opaque stockings underneath. It’s a little shorter than I would normally wear a dress, but it felt great on and I definitely felt more confident with my legs covered! I teamed it with my favourite black ankle boots – opaques and ankle boots in the same colour make your legs appear extra long as they draw the eye down. You could also make this dress work with ballet flats, especially if you chose to wear it without the stockings.

IMG_0041

Portmans Slick Crop Blazer – $99.95 (currently 30% off) / Sportsgirl bag (2011)

I added my black Portmans blazer for warmth. This has been a very wise purchase – I wear it to death! It’s incredibly comfortable and versatile to boot. The bright blue of a Sportsgirl bag provided a pop of colour. I kept accessories to a minimum, with a Swarovski ring and my Nixon watch.

It was lovely to get a bit dressed up, especially in an outfit that pushed me out of my comfort zone a little. I have another outfit post to share with you later in the week, and some exciting news about a competition that will be up and running very soon.

What did you do on the weekend? Do you have an outfit that pushes you out of your comfort zone? Have you picked up a bargain lately?

 

4 thoughts on “What I Wore – Winter Night Out

  1. I too scored this dress!!
    I added a pop of colour using red with a thin belt around the waist, a red/silver bangle and some small red earings.
    I wore it with opaque stockings also and kitten heel closed toe shoes.

Leave a Reply

