Reader Riddle – How can I Style a Chambray Shirt and Striped Skirt?

Striped Skirt Reader Outfit

* Apologies for my absence this week. My whole family has been unwell (and I’ve just come down with the same cough!), and work has been very busy. Don’t forget to enter the Pure Fiji Australia and Happiness Unearthed competition here. Be quick as it closes on Sunday!

Chambray shirts and stripes are two of my current favourite things to wear, so when reader Sarah-Jane emailed me for some help, I couldn’t help but try to rise to the challenge. Sarah-Jane said –

I bought these two pieces on sale, but I’m not sure how to style them. Currently, I am a stay at home Mum to three young and active little boys, so need my clothes to be practical as well. I love to play around with my accessories on a day to day basis but still keeping it simple. My range isn’t huge at the moment but I am slowly building it up.

I have given two options to suit each new addition to Sarah-Jane’s wardrobe. One is a casual look, which would suit her day to day requirements of being on her feet and chasing after kids. The other option is a dressier one that Sarah-Jane could wear when going out for dinner or to a movie.

Striped Skirt Reader Outfit

1. Sussan Splice High Low Tee – $49.95 | 2. Kate Spade New York Triple Strand Necklace – $148 | 3. Urge Burn Green Fabric shoes – $34.90 (on sale) | 4. Friend of Mine blazer – $113 (on sale) | 5. Banana Republic Annie beaded top – $59.99 (US dollars, on sale) |           6. Kate Spade New York Licorice shoe from Piperlime – $298 (US dollars, get 25% off today with the code CLOSET).

I love wearing a fresh pop of turquoise or emerald green with navy and white. It’s really fresh (great for Spring!), and a little different to the red that you would normally see paired with stripes for a nautical look. The white tee from Sussan could be tucked into the skirt, and slightly bloused if you wanted to. Kate Spade produces gorgeous jewellery, and this statement necklace would definitely be an attention stealer! It’s heavy enough that the kids could touch it and you wouldn’t be afraid that it would tangle or break. A cute pair of flats would not only add a pop of colour, but would make it easy to chase after three little kids. Ballet flats are so versatile, and can be dressed up or down. I love wearing them with shorts in Summer for work, or jeans.

The dressier version of this outfit still features some colour, with the gorgeous top from Banana Republic (it also comes in navy and white). I have talked about them before when they created a Mad Men inspired clothing range. They are part of the GAP group, with Old Navy and Piperlime. There are some really gorgeous pieces to be found, for very reasonable prices. They do ship internationally, and if you sign up to their newsletters you will get continuous specials straight to your inbox. I paired the top with an unstructured blazer in white. It may not be so practical with little ones, but it would be a great option for cooler nights if you were going out. The Kate Spade pumps are a classic option that would stay in your wardrobe for years to come. I liked that the heels weren’t too high – I don’t know about Sarah-Jane but I am definitely out of practice when it comes to wearing heels! They also come in a wide variety of colours.

When I am choosing new pieces for my wardrobe I try to find things that will fit with my existing wardrobe, or that I know will be easy to pair with staples like jeans or black pants. This way I know I will get the most amount of wear out of them. All of these pieces would work with other clothes in your cupboard, so you could easily mix and match.

Chambray Shirt Reader Outfit

1. Forever New striped maxi skirt – $49.99 | 2. Portmans Hi Lo Spliced Tank in Cyan – $39.95 | 3. Shoes of Prey custom design – $139 |  4. Forever New Emma Floral Scarf – $24.99 | 5. Decjuba Zipped Bengaline pants from The Iconic – $90.97 (on sale) | 6. Portmans Hi Lo Splice Tank in Pink – $39.95 | 7. Loeffler Randall Tamsin pumps from Piperlime – $149.99 (on sale)

Ever since seeing a post on Pinterest, I have loved the look of a striped maxi and a chambray shirt. I first picked one up around Mother’s Day and I have been having lots of fun styling it in different ways. The Forever New maxi pictured is the same as mine, however mine is navy. Either would be fine, and I’ve also recently been wearing my shirt with a black maxi. I normally roll the sleeves of my shirt up to just below the elbow for a more casual look. The hi lo spliced tanks from Portmans would add a pop of colour in both outfits. The flats are from Shoes of Prey. If you haven’t played with their website before, you should definitely have a look. Have you ever searched for those specific shoes that you just can’t seem to find? On Shoes of Prey you can design your own to suit a certain outfit, or just to have something different from what you find in the stores. They come in a variety of sizes, widths and fabrics. While I haven’t bought anything from them yet, I think I will be in the future.

The other option for the chambray shirt is to pair it with slim fit black pants. While others are brave and can rock double denim, I have never given it a try since I was a kid and wore jeans with a denim jacket. If you did want to attempt it, consider tucking in the shirt and adding a coloured belt to break it up a bit. I would choose black pants in a fabric that has a matte finish to mirror the look of the denim. The Portmans tank again provides a pop of colour, in a pink this time. I absolutely love these Loeffler Randall pumps. They fit with the botanical trend of the Spring/Summer season, they’re a great shape, with a manageable heel height. They could easily be worn with a variety of dresses, skirts or jeans. Forever New’s Emma floral scarf would add more colour to either outfit. The fact it features so many colours makes it a really versatile addition to any wardrobe, and it could be used to play up different colours in your outfits.

I hope this has helped you with some ideas for styling your new purchases, Sarah-Jane!

Do you have similar pieces in your wardrobe? What do you wear them with? 

If you have a Read Riddle that you would like solved, please email me at style unearthed@gmail.com – I would be more than happy to help!

Leave a Reply

