Trying a Trend – Monochrome

IMG_0056

Forever New Becca Spot Scarf | Target monochrome top (no longer available online) | Portmans Slick Crop Blazer | Jeans West Thermolite Super Skinny Jeans | Diana Ferrari loafers from 2009 (similar available here) | Tiffany & Co bracelet | Nixon Small Player watch

I am very lucky in my job that I can dress in a smart casual way, unless I have meetings. My black pants need re-hemming, and there was no way I was venturing out in a skirt today after the windy weather we’ve been having in Sydney, so jeans it was this morning. I decided to break out a new top and try the monochrome trend paired with denim. Sure, it wasn’t head to toe monochrome, but I did my best with what I had.

Before my wardrobe re-design and venturing out of my comfort zone I wore a lot of black and white. Lately I have tried to inject a lot more colour into my wardrobe, whether it be through vibrant clothes or bright accessories. I was hesitant to try the monochrome trend because I felt like I had come along way. I loved the top I wore today since I first saw it on the Target ads. It feels beautiful on, with the fabric flowing and sitting nicely. I’m sure it will get a good work out over the coming months. The hint of black on the sleeves and yoke balances out the stark white nicely. It definitely needs a singlet or camisole underneath it for modesty.

IMG_0057

With the weather still being chilly, I wore my blazer and new scarf which was a birthday present. I added a trench coat when I was outside. My comfy loafers are always top of my list for work footwear – they’re like slippers that you can leave the house in! Dark, slim or skinny fit jeans always look more dressy than lighter colours or the boyfriend trend. I wore my normal silver watch, and Tiffany bracelet. Simple is best for me when it comes to jewellery for work. If you wanted to add a pop of colour, you could do this with your accessories. Lots of chain jewellery stores like Lovisa and Diva have large monochrome collections where you can shop the trend and not spend a lot of money. This can be a great way to update your wardrobe. Lots of other high street chains are also featuring a lot of black and white, which makes the trend very accessible. One good thing about the monochrome trend, unlike lots of others, is that it is classic and timeless. You will be able to wear the pieces you choose for years to come, so it will perhaps be easier to justify larger purchases (in case you need an excuse!).

I put together a Polyvore board with some extra inspiration of monochrome with denim, skirts and pants. It is a fun trend to play with, and so many options are available. You can easily dress it up or down, and make it suit your lifestyle.

Monochrome Pants and Skirts

Which outfit is your favourite? Have you tried the monochrome trend?

4 thoughts on “Trying a Trend – Monochrome

  1. Love your target top!!!! want want want 😉 I seem to be getting on the monochrome bandwagon. Peter Morrisey has a lovely top for Big W. Love it!! black jeans and boots and I’m done. May need a scarf though.

Leave a Reply

