Favourites Unearthed

Favourites Unearthed - Page 001

 

It’s been a while since I’ve shared some of my current favourite things with you. There is a bit of a theme today – beauty and exercise. Health for the inside and outside, if you will. The weather here in Sydney is going to warm up next week (I hope so, because the past few days have been freezing!) and I am very much looking forward to making the most of the sunshine. Warmer weather also means planning a Spring and Summer wardrobe – lots of inspiration to come to this page in the next few weeks! Without further ado, here are a few of my favourite things, unearthed.

Finding Ultra by Rich Roll

IMG_0071

Not only does this guy have a seriously cool name, he is an inspiration. At almost 40 years of age he struggled to climb the stairs to his bedroom, afraid he was going to have a heart attack. Overweight and unhealthy, he decided to make a change. He transitioned to a vegetarian diet, which later became a plant-based vegan diet, and began training for triathlons and marathons. Dissatisfied with his performance in these events he set himself the goal to compete in Hawaii’s invitation-only Ultraman event (10km open ocean swim, 421km cross country bike ride, and an 84km double marathon run, completed over three days). Now, at 45, he is one of the fittest men in the world. My friend leant me Finding Ultra this week for Mr Style Unearthed to read, but I got to it first and haven’t put it down. It is interesting and very inspirational. You can change your life, and you can put your health first. Don’t be afraid if you’re over 40 – it’s not too late. Rather than just pushing one form of exercise, he enjoys a holistic health regime, using yoga and meditation as part of his regular routine. He also produces podcasts, which I will now be listening in to. You can visit Rich Roll’s website here.

Couleur Caramel Natural Makeup*

IMG_8460

I first discovered Couleur Caramel Natural Makeup on Twitter. When I did some research I discovered that they are cruelty free, 100% natural, made from fair trade sourced ingredients, and delivered in packaging made from recyclable materials. They were kind enough to send me some cosmetics to trial for a post I am currently writing for another blog, but I wanted to feature them here as well. I have been using the dark circle concealer daily, and I love it. It applies smoothly with my finger tips and blends well under my BB cream or foundation. I am looking forward to using the bronzer more coming in to Summer to give me a healthy glow without sun damage. The lipstick applies well, and has a nice shine to it.  I absolutely love the fact that this makeup does not harm animals or people. The packaging is gorgeous, and feels fantastic to touch. I think I will be placing an order soon. You can browse the range here.

Women’s Fitness Magazine

IMG_0069_2

I mentioned fitness and wellness magazines in my recent post about getting back into exercise, and Women’s Fitness is my personal favourite. At $5.95 it is very affordable, and has a range of Australian health and fitness experts who provide tips and hints. The recipes featured each month are great, and there are often vegetarian options, which I love. I am looking forward to trying the apple and cinnamon breakfast cookies from this month’s issue. The include lots of information about health and fitness studies, and the latest exercises to try. It is available at all good newsagents and supermarkets.

Pure Fiji Serum*

IMG_0067

This little gem has been a recent addition to my skin routine. Serums are the new anti-aging product on the block, and designed to moisturise your skin for 24 hours after application. Ngi grass is the magic ingredient in Pure Fiji’s offering, moisturising and reducing wrinkles and fine lines.  Like many of Pure Fiji’s products, the serum contains their anti-oxident blend of natural plant oils (including Dilo, coconut and macadamia oils). I have been using a small pea sized amount under my day creme, and it has allowed my normally dry skin to stay moisturised during the harsh Winter. It is lighter than the day creme, and is easily applied. Many mainstream brands offer serums, and you can pick them up in the supermarket or pharmacy. If you would like to try Pure Fiji’s beautiful version, visit their website here.

Lola

IMG_0070_2

This little face has also been unearthing happiness around here lately. We have quite a decent backyard which she loves running around in, but she has started developing a little – shall we call it – middle aged spread recently (curse of the garbage guts Beagle). As a result, wee have been walking her a lot more. She gets so excited when we all put on our shoes and get her harness. New smells during a walk are heaven for a dog who is lead by her nose! She will be seven in a couple of weeks, and is a far cry from the tiny puppy we picked up all those years ago. She has started getting a little grey, but she’s growing old fairly gracefully. She is great with the children, and they love her to bits. I am definitely a dog person, and we love having her around.

What has been making you happy lately? Do you have any inspirational books I should read? Are you a dog person?

* These products were gifted to me for editorial consideration.

Leave a Reply

