Five Ways to Fix Dry Skin

FiveWaystoFixDrySkin

 

I have dry skin, especially on my hands and face. It’s normally a problem that presents itself in Winter, but lately with a busy (and sometimes stressful) life and lots of hand washing to try and avoid bugs, I have been suffering from very dry skin. These are my five ways to fix dry skin, that tend to nip the eczema that follows in the bud. I hope they help you too.

1. A good facial moisturiser

IMG_0103_2

Dry skin often crops up on my face. This week I have had a head cold, and now have a red nose to rival Rudolph that I am desperately trying to get rid of! I normally use Pure Fiji day and night creams, along with a serum. I have recently been trying a Perfecting Lotion* too, which I love. It feels very smooth when it is applied, and seems to moisturise the skin evenly. It feels similar to a serum, though a little thicker. I think I will definitely be investing in a larger bottle! Used in combination, these creams work very well and seem to bring plenty of moisture to my face. Used in combination with a cleansing and toning routine, the creams and serums will keep your skin soft and supple.

2. A naturally-based body moisturiser

IMG_0104_2

Along with a vitamin E cream, I also use Pure Fiji Dilo Rescue Body Gel, and QV Intensive Moisturiser when my skin becomes particularly dry. The Dilo Rescue is wonderful on freshly shaved legs, or to sooth irritated skin. It is made from all natural ingredients, and smells lovely. It is the perfect after sun lotion, and can be stored in the fridge if you need it to be cool.

The QV moisturiser was recommended to me for my daughter’s dry skin when she was a tiny baby. It is water based, which means it does not hurt when it is applied to cracked skin. This is wonderful news for me, as I often get cracks in my hands that sting. If your hands or feet are dry and uncomfortable, apply a thick layer of this cream before bed and cover with socks or cotton gloves. It may take a couple of days to settle down, but it will help the moisture absorb and repair your skin. This enormous pot was around $25, but was purchased two years ago. It is still going strong!

Make sure your moisturise your hands regularly, especially when you are washing or sanitising your hands frequently.

3. Look after your lips

IMG_0107_2

As a teenager, I was obsessed with lip gloss. I had multiple tubes floating around in multiple bags. These days, I’m lucky to remember to put it on! When I do remember to look after my lips, Baby Lips by Maybelline has become a favourite. It comes in a range of flavours that add a hint of colour. They smell great, are available in the supermarket, and are incredibly cost effective. You can afford to have one in every bag!

In Summer, I will be switching to an SPF rated lip gloss for extra sun protection. I have heard good things about the Sun Sense gloss, so I think I will try it first.

4. Drink plenty of water

IMG_0105_2

I notice that my skin is on the drier side if I neglect to drink enough water. The recommended intake is 6-8 glasses of liquid per day, and while this does include tea, coffee and juice (among other things) water really is the best option for rehydration. It is especially important in the Summer months when your body will lose moisture due to the warmer weather. There are so many cute reusable water bottles around that we really shouldn’t have any excuses not to be drinking enough h20.

5. Keep a healthy body and mind

Eating poorly and stress or worry really impact upon the state of my skin. I can tell if I am stressed by my hands and legs – they will break into eczema very quickly. Trying to look after myself really affects more than just my body and mood. Dreaded pimples and white heads also appear on my face. So, an apple a day (along with eating a balanced diet, meditating and exercising) also keeps the steroid cream away!

* I was given a sample size of Perfecting Lotion to sample. I was not paid for this post, and I do not write about products unless I truly like them.

What do you use on your skin? Are there any lotions and potions I need to know about?

2 thoughts on “Five Ways to Fix Dry Skin

  1. I find i suffer dry hands, particularly in the office (must be the office air conditioning?). I’ve been using & keep a tube of trilogy’s ultra hyrdrating hand cream, it’s a bit exxy at around $20 a tube. I do love it though, it puts the moisture back in my hands without leaving greasy finger prints on my keyboard. (I’ve trialled a lot of hand creams, & most of them i find leave a greasy residue)

Leave a Reply

