Trying a Trend – Printed Pants

IMG_0132

Pants – Peter Morrissey for Big W | Top – Portmans (similar here) | Shoes – Diana Ferrari (similar here)| Sunglasses – Tory Burch

It has taken me a while to try out the patterned pant trend that has been everywhere for the past few months. I picked this pair up last week when Big W had a buy 2, get a third for free sale. They were only $25, and they’re incredibly comfortable. I wore them on the weekend with a black singlet top and flat sandals for a casual look, but swapped them for low wedges and the Portmans top in the photo above for work. I was a bit afraid they would look too much like pyjama pants, but it seemed to work!

The wonderful thing about printed pants is that they can be worn casually or dressed up. I plan to try them with a pair of wedges, and also a blazer for a dressier look. Accessories will add to the outfit (as usual). Lovisa has some great statement necklaces in bright colours  or monochrome to work with any outfit.

Printed pants are in most shops this summer, in a range of fabrics and prints. I have found four very different offerings which you can see below.

Printedpants

1. Witchery Viscose printed pant – $99.95 | 2. Target Free Fusion pant – $23.20 (on sale) | 3. Metalicus Horizon Drape Pant – $149.95 | 4. Sussan Filagree pant – $39.95 (on sale)

Style Unearthed’s printed pants tips

1. Try something within your comfort zone, but a little different. For me, the monochrome was within my comfort zone, but the soft fabric and cut were not. It has allowed me to ease myself in to the trend, but not feel uncomfortable.

2. Choose something that will work with your current wardrobe. Pick a colour that can work with clothes or accessories you already have, or that can work with several different colours. This will add to the versatility.

3. Don’t discount the trend for Summer. Lots of the pants I found are in light weight fabrics and are very wearable in warmer weather. Try them with a singlet or cotton top to stay cool.

Have you tried the printed pant trend yet? Would you wear them? What do you like to style them with?

6 thoughts on “Trying a Trend – Printed Pants

  1. I currently own 2 pairs of printed pants and they are both black + white! I think it might be time for me to add some colour. I love the look of the Target Free Fusion pants and at under $25, that’s definitely a trend piece I wouldn’t mind purchasing!

  2. I did a similar post the other day on printed pants, mine were black and white too but in more or a tribal print and were only $9 from Kmart (and not even on sale!). Loving your look x

Leave a Reply

