Christmas Present Wrapping Ideas

IMG_0133_2

 

Do you enjoy wrapping presents for Christmas, like me, or are you more like Smithy from Gavin and Stacey who wrapped everything in tin foil because he didn’t need to use sticky tape? I love choosing wrapping paper each year, and making presents look nice. I know the paper is only going to be torn off, but at least it looks pretty sitting underneath the tree! I thought I would share some Christmas present wrapping ideas with you, before time runs out!

This year I was quite organised, when on a trip to Masters I found themed wrapping, table decorations and crackers. I decided to go with a blue and silver beachy theme – perfect for Australia in the summer time. I purchased gorgeous blue and silver ribbon, a thick navy ribbon and several rolls of rope. Silver and white rolls of wrapping paper found at the supermarket matched perfectly. On the weekend, I found more of the red and white twine I used last year at Kikki K and bought another tube – it has been a nice addition to the red and white paper I purchased on the weekend when I thought I would run out of paper (I always think this, and overbuy. Haven’t run out yet funny that!). Dressing up the presents has been lots of fun. 

IMG_0134_2

Boxes are definitely the easiest things to wrap. I make sure I trim the paper as close as I can to the present so it doesn’t all bunch up at the sides.

IMG_0135_2

Red and white wrapping (or brown paper which I have used the past couple of years) always looks really effective. By purchasing neutral colours, I can use left over paper for birthdays throughout the year by changing the colour of the ribbon, or using stamps to decorate the paper.

IMG_0137_2

While it’s not a traditional Christmas colour, I love the look of the navy blue with the silver and white. This year I bought two different types of tags (one for the kids, and one for adults) that matched the paper. In the past I have made tags, but didn’t have the time to spend this year.

Style Unearthed’s Christmas wrapping tips:

1. Check out discount stores and supermarkets – You don’t have to spend a bomb on wrapping materials, After all, it is only going to end up in the recycling bin. Stores like The Reject Shop and your local supermarket will offer lots of options, often in coloured themes. Also check out craft stores like Lincraft, Spotlight and Riot. They often have huge discounts on Christmas stock in the lead up to the big day. These stores are also great spots to buy things like sticky tape and ribbon.

2. Recycle ribbon and other trimmings from the past year – When you are given presents throughout the year, don’t throw them away. I have some craft drawers in a cupboard and store crafty bits and pieces in there. If I need a ribbon I raid this spot first before buying new things. We also save our gift bags. Watch the after Christmas catalogues for special wrapping paper storage bags – you can make the most of the sales and buy your wrap for next year (now that’s organised!).

3. Simple works too – Your wrapping doesn’t need to be elaborate. Simple brown paper, stamps (Kikki K have lots of cute ones), or even brown paper bags can look really effective. If you choose a theme, keep it simple and with like colours. While mine doesn’t all match this year the different wrapping lets me know who the presents are for!

4. Hit Pinterest – If you’re after some wrapping inspiration, have a look at sites like Pinterest. There are lots of gorgeous ideas, many with simple touches using doilies, twine and twigs.

5. Consider the environment – While I have gone the usual route with paper this year, my friend Norlin at Baubles, Bubbles and Bags has some fantastic ideas about wrapping with a difference. I also saw some lovely ideas in a magazine last year making themed presents with the wrapping as a feature –  plant pots (and gardening bits and pieces), popcorn buckets (complete with movie tickets and snacks) and tea towels (with cooking goodies hidden inside). Step outside the square, and you might find some great ideas.

How do you wrap your Christmas presents? Have you decided on a theme this year, or do you keep it simple?

Thank you for your support of Style Unearthed this year. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Style Unearthed will be back after Christmas.

6 thoughts on “Christmas Present Wrapping Ideas

  1. haha..you know I’m not great with wrapping presents. I normally keep it really simple and add ribbon if the need arises. I do love that idea of adding those strip of navy and then adding ribbon over it – might steal that idea for birthday presents next year. I love that tip of keeping ribbons used from previous presents ( I do that too!). Thanks for sharing my post too Sarah! xx

  2. I love wrapping presents and like to have pretty wrapping. I couldn’t believe my luck when my first job had me on the gift wrap counter at Christmas. I hope you have a very merry Christmas Sarah and look forward to hearing more from you in 2014.

  3. I love a colour theme and this year I went with white, silver and aqua. I got a little creative with my ribbon techniques and it made for lovely looking gifts with very little effort. Also pretty stoked I have heaps left over so can wrap many more gifts throughout the year without waste!

Leave a Reply

