My Everyday Style

IMG_0142

 

Top – Peter Morrissey for Big W | Shorts – Target | Shoes – Rubi

I have been playing along with Nikki from Styling You‘s Everyday Style project. It has been set up for people to share their outfits, whether they’re going out and looking fabulous or taking their kids to the park. I love looking at everyone’s outfits to gain inspiration, or to find some new pieces for my own wardrobe. In this post I will share some of my everyday style from the past few weeks.

IMG_0143_2

Top – Peter Morrissey for Big W | Pants – Peter Morrissey for Big W | Shoes – Diana Ferrari | Bangle – borrowed from my sister in law

Nikki is very diligent and posts pictures of her outfit everyday. I join in on days when I’m wearing something interesting that you guys may not have seen before. I do like to shop, but I tend to recycle outfits a little. This project helps me push the boundaries and mix it up a little in the wardrobe stakes. I loved the monochrome touches in the above outfit, and added a pop of red to make it a little more interesting.

IMG_0144

Dress – Witchery | Sandals – Diana Ferrari

This dress is a perfect example of trying something new. I was given it for Christmas in 2012, prior to losing weight and starting my wardrobe re-design. It was a little on the fitted side and I didn’t feel very comfortable wearing it as a result. Due to the ruching on the side it would ride up, or slip down. Now that it’s on the bigger side, I pop a white singlet top underneath for a more relaxed look. It helps me maintain my modesty, and makes for a cute and casual outfit. Don’t discount clothes that are too big – try adding something underneath or belting dresses and tops.

IMG_0146

Dress – Target | Shoes – Betts | Bracelets – Fiji

You know how much I love chambray, and when I saw this dress in Target I knew it would be coming home with me! It is nice and light – perfect for a warm Summer day. It comes with a chambray belt, but it would also work with a tan belt (or whatever colour you wanted, really!). I was also sporting my new FitBit which you will see more frequently in photos. I will be doing a review of it soon, but want to give it a good test run at the gym first. It was a nice surprise on Christmas Day.

IMG_0145_2

Top – Forever New | Shorts – Target | Shoes – Rubi

I loved the pretty details on this top. It has gorgeous beading and embroidery, and was just very pretty. I was given a voucher for my birthday, and this ended up coming home with me. It looks great with shorts or a skirt, and can be dressed up or down. At first I was a little apprehensive about the colour, but my kids are getting a little older and I’m not as afraid to wear white as I have been! The shorts are the shorter ones I wrote about a while ago, and they have become a staple item in my wardrobe. They are so comfortable, and I love the colour.

IMG_0147

Dress – Emerson (Big W) | Shoes – Rubi | Bag – imported from France |Bangles – Equip

I wore this outfit heading out for breakfast mid-kitchen renovation (can you tell from the tired face?). The dress is about two years old now, but still comfy and casual. Always a sucker for a navy and white stripe, it’s still stayed in my wardrobe. The bag is from a gorgeous company who import goods from France, and then sell at markets. They have colourful table clothes, glass bowls and serving ware, and cute bags. I loved this one that I was given as a Christmas gift, and it’s perfect for Summer.

IMG_0148_2

Top – Zara | Jeans – Jeans West Thermolite Super Skinnies | Shoes – Diana Ferrari | Dog – my own

Last week we finally had some cooler weather, which was a welcome change from the heat. I took the opportunity to break out my Zara jumper I purchased when we were in Melbourne. I actually matched the gloomy skies, and our dog, hence the photo! This jumper is sure to be an Autumn and Winter staple – it will look great with black pants as well as jeans.

IMG_0150

Top – Target | Shorts – Target | Shoes – surf shop

Last Friday I was lucky enough to have a picnic with almost all my extended family. Some live in Perth, while others are in Melbourne, so it is rare that all 12 grandchildren are together at the same time.  The reason for our gathering was sad (our beloved Poppa passed away), but it was so lovely to enjoy some sunshine and each other’s company. We had a picnic at the beach where the small members of the family could paddle, and the older ones could enjoy the kayaks for paddling of a different kind.

IMG_0149_2

Outfit – Same as above | Hat – Element | Sunglasses – Tory Burch

I hope you’ve enjoyed a look inside my wardrobe over the past couple of weeks. Please let me know if you’d like to see more or less of these types of posts!

If you would like to join in with Everyday Style, simply take a picture of yourself and share it on social media with the hashtag #everydaystyle. Make sure you tag Nikki @stylingyou so she can see your outfits. She shares some on the blog each Friday, so you never know, you could be picked!

What does your Everyday Style look like? Feel free to upload your photo in the comments section to share your favourite outfit with me.

12 thoughts on “My Everyday Style

  1. Our styles are very similar Sarah, just have to get you wearing more jewellery! I’ve been sharing Sister in Style’s everydaystyle every other day, not sure how we’ll go once we’re back to the real world though.

  2. Love your easy breezy style Sarah. I can tell you love classic pieces and what’s not to love about chambray eh? 😉

  3. Thanks Sarah for the great post. I’ve been trying to work on my style and building up my wardrobe again after baby no.2 and find your blog really helpful as I love your style and outfits. I’d actually just ordered online the Peter Morrisey printed pants based on a previous post you did on them – I was a bit apprehensive about the printed pants thing but like how you styled them for a classic look.

    • Thank you so much Amy! Baby number two was my catalyst for changing my wardrobe. I hope you like the pants – they are super comfy! I’m on the lookout for a blue pair now as they’re on special for $15! I’m not a very ‘out there’ person so I tend to make them the feature with a neutral top and toned down accessories. It’s fun playing around with something different though. Thank you for reading 🙂

  4. Thank god I found your blog. Your style is exactly how I like to dress, classic with a twist (accessories). And love your budget too. I am having a hard time putting together outfits after 6 years of babies & BF. I found you via Nikki (Styling You) looking forward to reading more from your blog.

Leave a Reply

