Autumn Fashion Shopping List

Autumn & Winter Shopping List

The seasons have finally clicked over to Autumn, and I for one cannot wait for the cooler weather. Autumn, with it’s golden leaves, crisp mornings and warm sunshine, is by far my favourite season. I walked to yoga yesterday morning and could feel that much-longed for chill in the air. The thought of pulling on long pants, cardigans, and accessorising with a chunky scarf makes me ridiculously excited!

The stock for the cooler weather has started to drop in store, so I am sharing my Autumn fashion shopping list for the season ahead. I have lay byed a couple of items already to secure my size, but I will be doing some more trying on this weekend after this little online window shopping session.

1. Forever New Belted Vest – $69.99. This would look great with jeans for the weekend, tucked into long, brown boots. You could also make it work with black pants and some ballet flats for a smart casual work look. Add a long sleeved tee underneath for warmth, or for a bit of colour.

2. Cue Tartan Dress – $395. I absolutely love Cue’s dresses. They are all cut in a classic style that make me feel fantastic. This is more than I would normally spend on a dress, but I turn 30 this year and may have just found the perfect party dress. There have to be some advantages to being a July baby! Having Scottish heritage, I have always been a sucker for some tartan, and this one is similar to one of my clan’s patterns. Add some black opaque tights, a pair of killer black heels and you have an outfit fit for a birthday girl!

3. Peter Morrissey Crew Rib Pullover – $39. While this jumper is on the thinner side, I think it will still be very warm. I decided to go up a size so I could layer it over a t-shirt for extra warmth. My plan is to pair it with blue jeans and ankle boots. Neutral colours like cream and grey are everywhere this season, and can be brightened up with colourful scarves or jewellery.

4. Forever New Cleo Cable Sweater – $69.99. The colour and cable pattern drew me to this jumper. I work in a part of Sydney that can be very cold, so a snuggly jumper is a must. I love that this style of jumper is coming back, and if you have a Nana who is handy with the knitting needles (or you’re crafty and clever yourself) you could have a handmade version for a fraction of the price.

5. Peter Morrissey Sequin Pullover – $39. I always find it hard to find warm clothes that are suitable to wear out at night. It’s always nice to feel a bit dressed up, but if you’re walking to and from cars, restaurants or friend’s houses, you don’t always want to lug a heavy coat. This pullover feels fantastic on – lovely and soft – with a hint of sparkle. I will be wearing it with black pants for a dressier look.

6. Long Tall Sally Chelsea Slim Leg Jean – $82.50. As a tall woman, jeans can be tricky to purchase. Long Tall Sally sell clothing especially made for tall women – extra leg length? Yes please! I have been on the lookout for the perfect pair of black jeans, and I will be investing in a pair of these this season.

7. Diana Ferrari Haviland Boots – $169.95. Last year I managed to pick up a gorgeous pair of heeled ankle boots from Diana Ferrari, and this year I would love some flat ones. As a teacher, heels aren’t always practical, especially when I need to do playground duty and garden with the students. Flat boots are much easier for me to wear, and mean I can run around after my own two kids with ease.

8. Long Tall Sally Heavy Jersey Trousers – $82.50. Another item I have been searching for over the past several years is a pair of long, slim black trousers. I have my fingers crossed that at last these will be the perfect pair. Long Tall Sally post to Australia for only $9.95, and their collection is very reasonably priced. I love that I will be able to order something that will be long enough – no more change room disappointment with the cuffs of pants flapping around my ankles!

Winter time also calls for a killer jacket – this year I have picked up a fantastic leather-look biker jacket that I pulled out of the wardrobe last week. You could also choose from a classic trench or warm pea coat. Watch this space for a jacket selection in coming months!

What is on your must-have list for Autumn and Winter? Have you bought anything yet?

5 thoughts on “Autumn Fashion Shopping List

  1. Pingback: Fashion Day: Autumn Must Haves 2014 | Baubles, Bubbles and Bags Style File

Leave a Reply

