What I Wore – Cue Dress to a Family Wedding

IMG_0213_2

On Friday, my beautiful sister-in-law was married. We were so thrilled to welcome her new husband into the family, although he has felt like he’s been part of it for a long time already. Our kids adore them both, and were thrilled to be involved in the day. They both looked incredibly cute (and grown up!) in their special outfits, and our daughter had a ball having her hair done.

I decided to buy a new outfit for the wedding – it was a special one, after all! I had also been asked to perform a reading, which I was very honoured to do. You have heard me rave about Cue clothing before, and it was one of the first places that I went to look for an outfit. Their dresses are beautifully cut, and I find that they fit me well. The sizing is consistent, and they are incredibly comfortable. The staff at my local store are fantastic – nothing is ever too much trouble, and they’re always happy to give constructive advice.

Cue have lots of Japanese inspired fabrics and looks this year (I saw both Summer and Winter dresses that suited this style) and I was drawn to the colours of this dress. It is nipped in at the waist, which I always love, and had pockets so it had to be a winner! It probably could have done with a belt, but as my shoes were navy and I didn’t have a belt to match, I went without this time.

I chose navy wedges, as it was a garden wedding and I didn’t want heels becoming stuck in the grass. They are Corelli brand from Williams, and were a lucky find in an end of season sale. The fantastic thing about this dress is that it has so many colours in it, and can therefore be worn with a variety of accessories to make different colours pop. It would look great with gold sandals for a casual Summer look.

It’s no secret that I love Swarovski jewellery, and I wore a couple of my favourite pieces – earrings that my family bought for my birthday last year, and a purple and blue ring to match the colours in the dress.

IMG_0214

My hair was cut the day of the wedding, and I asked my hairdresser to use a ghd to do some loose curls. Unfortunately the weather was wet, but this suited my hair as it tends to frizz in the rain and humidity! Is it just me, or does it always make you slightly nervous waiting for curly hair to drop? I certainly got some strange looks with my big hair when we went out for lunch that day.

I can’t wait to wear this dress again – it was comfortable and I felt wonderful in it. Cue strikes again!

Do you enjoy getting dressed up for weddings? What is your go-to outfit?

5 thoughts on “What I Wore – Cue Dress to a Family Wedding

  1. Pingback: A Long Weekend in Melbourne | Style Unearthed

Leave a Reply

