How to Make Coconut and Sugar Rub

How to Make Coconut and Sugar Rub

A few weeks ago I was at a make up and beauty party with some friends from work. We were enjoying being pampered and all tried a lovely sugar rub on our hands. When it came time to order products, we found it was a bit out of our price range. A while ago I had seen a recipe for home made sugar rub in a magazine, so I told my friends I would try to make my own and share it if it worked. Here it is!

I have always loved sugar scrub as a body exfoliant, and it keeps on giving afterwards as a moisturiser too. This version only uses two ingredients, and is super easy to make. I recycled a small Glasshouse candle jar to store it, but I think it would be better in a plastic container, especially when being used in the shower. The jar does make it look very cute though. Here is how I made it:

Sugar Rub 1

You will need:

– coconut oil (I used an organic extra virgin variety)

– raw sugar (cane sugar would also work)

– wooden spoon

– microwave or saucepan and stove

– a jar or container for storage

My parents-in-law have a Costco membership, and when we visited I saw some huge jars of coconut oil. Next time they went back I asked them to grab me one, as it was a lot cheaper than buying from the supermarket or a health food shop. Woolworths have the cheapest jars that I have found otherwise, though they are smaller. I chose to use raw sugar as that is what I had in the cupboard. It worked well as the granules were nice and big.

I only made a small amount of scrub as a trial, and it made enough to fill the Glasshouse jar and a snack size Tupperware container. I used half a cup of coconut oil, and a quarter of a cup of sugar. You can alter this amount to make more, but I think a small amount is good to start with. The other advantage is that it won’t spoil if you don’t use it for a while.

Sugar Rub 2

The next step is to melt the oil. I put it in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time, stirring in between. The aim is to only melt the oil a bit (enough to stir in the sugar), but not the melt the sugar once it is put in. My microwave was able to do that in 60 seconds, but each one will differ. I gave it a really good stir with a wooden spoon, and tried to get the lumps out.

Sugar Rub 3

Next, I stirred a quarter of a cup of sugar through the oil. You could add more or less, depending on how gritty you would like your scrub. I tested some on my hands to see if it was okay, and while it felt a little harsh to begin with it started to dissolve after a few seconds. Try rinsing in warm water, as this helps the oil come off your skin. It will leave your skin soft, but not greasy.

Sugar Rub 4

The final step is to decant it into a container of your choice. Discount shops have lots of cute bottles and jars if you want to give some scrub as a gift, but I would keep it in a plastic container for safety. I wrapped some Washi tape around the bottom to add some colour, and used it as a label. Some colourful ribbon would also look cute.

The rub will solidify in cold weather, so return it to liquid form just run it under some warm water. This will make it a lot easier to apply. Also remember to just use it on your body, arms and legs, as it is too harsh for the skin on your face. Enjoy!

Have you ever tried to make your own beauty products? Do you have any others I should try?

* Would you like to enter a competition to win a $100 Shopolla voucher? Check out this post and you can be in the running. 

4 thoughts on “How to Make Coconut and Sugar Rub

Leave a Reply

