Reader Riddle – After 5 Dresses

Reader Riddle - After 5

 

It’s that time of year where we start pulling out cocktail dresses, high heels and special accessories. The downward slide to Christmas parties has begun, but first we have end of year sporting presentations. Reader Claire emailed me after commented on the Style Unearthed Facebook page, saying she was going shopping to look at after 5 dresses this weekend, but didn’t know where to start. Her requirements are listed above – I feel her pain regarding too-short dresses – sometimes long legs can be a disadvantage!

Lots of online window shopping later, and I found some dresses that I hope will suit Claire’s style. Everything featured can be found online, but many of the brands also have stockists or stores in Tasmania so that Claire will be able to try things on. I have stuck with two main trends – patterns and monochrome. There are still a lot of neutrals around this Spring and Summer, with florals and geometric patters back in a big way also.

If you choose to wear monochrome, you can brighten your outfit up with some colourful accessories like a bright bag, heels or even a slick of lipstick. Colour rich, patterned outfits look great with neutral accessories so you can let the dress do the talking.

Let’s go shopping!

Monochrome

After 5 Monochrome Dresses

 

1. Target Runway to Rack dress – $99 | 2. Diana Ferrari Zoya lace dress – $129.95 (on sale) | 3. Cue in the City Colour Blocked dress – $175 | 4. Ted Baker Aneta dress from Yeltuor – $368.95 | 5. Wayne by Wayne Cooper swirl dress from Myer – $55 (on sale) | 6. Long Tall Sally belted spot dress – $90.75

I love the Target Runway to Rack dress from this pick, along with the Cue in the City dress. Cue is always my go-to store when I need a dress for a special occasion. They do dresses in great cuts, and the Cue in the City diffusion line offers really cost effective, well made garments. All the dresses that I chose in this selection are on the short side, but should all rest just above the knee. If you are particularly tall or have long legs, try shops such as Long Tall Sally. Yeltuor is a boutique located in Tasmania.

Patterns

After 5 Dresses - Patterns

1. Angela dress by Elle Zeitoune at Archfashion – $300 | 2. Cue Abstract Floral Pattern dress – $249 | 3. Leona Edmiston Kira dress – $395 | 4. Sheike Splash dress – $99 (on sale) | 5. Pink Ruby Purple Print dress at Archfashion – $179 | 6. Forever New Jaclyn Embellished Wrap dress – $179.99

There are some gorgeous patterned dresses available this season. I saw the Leona Edmiston dress collection featuring the Kira dress in the middle of the night this week while I was scrolling Facebook and coughing (we’ve all been sick!). There is a version with a long skirt that I am coveting – they remind me of Monet’s Water Lillies paintings. Forever New have a wide variety of floral dresses this season, and I loved this halter neck design. Archfashion is another boutique with stockists in Tasmania, and is also available online. They have a huge collection of dresses and gowns for a variety of occasions and should definitely be on your must shop list.

I hope this has helped you, Claire! I am looking forward to seeing what dress you choose for your fun night out.

What kind of outfit would you choose to wear to an end of season event? Are you a monochrome or patterned type of girl?

* If you have a Reader Riddle question, please email Sarah at style unearthed@gmail.com and I will do my best to help you!

