Melbourne Shopping List – H & M

H&M For Work

On Thursday I am heading to Melbourne for my cousin’s wedding, and when in Melbourne, one must shop! I am excited to visit H & M, as I haven’t been since I was in the UK more than 10 years ago. My work and play wardrobes need a little update – I bought a few pieces last year but lots of things are either still too big (like my favourite pencil skirt), or fairly old (like many tops). Summer can be a tricky season to dress for as a teacher. You need to remain professional, but have to dress for warm weather, playground duty and sometimes infrequent air conditioning. Dresses, skirts, tailored shorts and sleeveless blouses are perfect, and can be worn in the office too if that is where you work. One of the things that I like about H & M is that lots of their garments come in a variety of colours and patterns, so if you like something you are able to buy it in various styles.

The tops in the first row are available in many styles – the v-neck blouse (1 – $19.95) comes in three colours. It would look great tucked into a pencil skirt and worn with wedges or ballet flats. I really love the draped blouse (2 – $29.95) and I think it would look lovely with the beige pencil skirt. You could make it look extra professional with a blazer over the top, and a neutral heel. Cotton button downs (3 – $14.95) are great for playground duty as they are sun safe, made from breathable fabric, and professional looking. This one comes in a choice of five fabrics, from casual plaid, to crisp stripes. I am interested to try this navy sleeveless dress (4 – $39.95). It would look great on more formal occasions like speech days, or parent teacher interviews. It would look cute teamed with a cropped cardigan, or a blazer. Patterned trousers are back in a big way this season, and this black and pink version (5 – $19.95) brings a little edge to the office. There are also a black floral pair that I have my eye on. The pencil skirts featured down the bottom are all the same cut, but in a variety of colours (6, 7 and 8 – $29.95). It is also available in a dark blue fabric. Hopefully they will fit nicely, as I have been in the market for the perfect pencil skirt since my old one now falls off me! A high waisted pencil skirt looks great all year round, and always helps me feel like I’m channelling a bit of Mad Men chic.

While there are lots of work choices, there are also lots for casual wear and fun. Stores like H & M carry a lot of great basics, and I am on the hunt for that elusive perfect white t-shirt. Having two active little kids, I live in shorts during Summer time. They look great with sandals or casual shoes like Converse.

H&M For Play

A little cotton dress (1 – $29.95) is also a must have for warmer weather. This one comes in two choices of fabric, and is apparently knee length. I have mentioned my struggle to find longer short dresses before (long legs tend to make everything short!), so hopefully this one will live up to it’s description. I loved this cotton tank top (2 – $9.95), and it comes in four different colours and prints. It will be perfect teamed with shorts for the beach, or a casual lunch with friends. Surprise, surprise, a stripy top snuck in to the list (3 – $12.95). A Breton stripe is perfect for Summer and adds to that French Rivera feeling, especially when teamed with a pair of denim shorts. This t-shirt in slub jersey (4 – $9.95) has a nice relaxed fit and would look great with shorts or a maxi skirt. I am hoping the white version will prove to be the perfect tee! This straw hat (5 – $9.95) comes in beige or black, and would look great with a coloured ribbon that you could change to reflect your outfit. These striped chino shorts (6 – $29.95) are one of the favourite items I have found. Again, they come in a range of colours and prints, but these ones would be perfect for warm weather. I will team them with tan flats and the straw hat, and either a slub tee or singlet top. The loafers (7 – $16.95) come in pink or black, and would be cute with tailored shorts or a skirt. They don’t scream Summer, and would probably be better for work, but I couldn’t resist putting them on my wish list.

True to form, there are a lot of neutrals and navy on my list. I am trying to integrate more bright colours into my wardrobe, but I have a feeling they might come in the form of accessories! While in Melbourne I am also looking forward to checking out Uniqlo and The Emporium – I’m sure I can while away many an hour there after looking at the website! I definitely won’t be buying everything on my list, but I am looking forward to doing lots of trying on.

What is on your Summer wish list? If you live in Melbourne, do you have any shopping or eating tips for me?

9 thoughts on “Melbourne Shopping List – H & M

  1. Confession….I have NOT stepped into H & M since it opened in Melbourne (gasp!) Yep. So it’ll be a treat for me when I go in there with you tomorrow! Do check out Victoria’s Secret for their body products (3 for $43), and their undies are not too bad – too bad they’re not bringing in their bras!! Also check out Uniqlo – my top favourite for quality basics. And if you haven’t been to Topshop, there’s one there at the Emporium too. I know there’s a Zara in Sydney but do check that out too! And Muji!

Leave a Reply

