Dresses for the Spring Racing Carnival

Reader Riddle - Spring Racing Carnival

October and November are busy times in the racing calendar, and a fun time for fashion. Women everywhere frock up for champagne, fun with friends, and some times a little bit of a flutter.

Jess has three racing events to attend, and wants to wear the same outfit to each one. I often do this, as long as I know that I will be seeing different people! Changing the accessories, or hair and make up can be a good way of stopping your look feeling stale. One of the race days Jess will be enjoying is Derby Day. Traditionally, everyone in attendance wears black and white. The pictures always look fantastic, and dresses can be teamed with brightly coloured accessories, or classic sparkles (diamonds or crystals).

I scoped out as many black, white, patterned and combinations of these as I could. There are a variety of lengths, including above the knee and maxi dresses. Enjoy!

Patterned

Racing Dresses Patterns

1. C&M Camilla & Marc Knotting Hill Dress – $289 | 2. Cue Graphic Striped Floral Dress – $389 | 3. Sheike Neptune Dress – $159.95 | 4. Veronika Maine Poppy Jacquard Blocked Dress – $275

There are lots of patterned dresses around again this season. As always, Cue came through with the goods, offering lots of dresses in black and white. I chose a range of necklines for Jess. Strapless dresses don’t normally suit me, but I love this one from Sheike. A flared skirt can disguise your legs if you are uncomfortable with yours. The halter neck style of the C&M Camilla & Marc dress will show off your arms and shoulders. You can try a bolero, shrug or waist length blazer for warmth, or to hide your arms should you want to.

Lace

Spring Racing Lace

1. Diana Ferrari Sacha Pencil Dress – $149.95 (on sale) | 2. Review Sinatra Shift Dress – $279.99 | 3. Review Audree Dress – $289.99 | 4. AKIN by Ginger & Smart Eclipse Halter Dress – $269

I absolutely loved these lace dresses. While Jess told me she is not comfortable in all white (me too!), I couldn’t go past the Diana Ferrari and Review dresses. Review have the most beautiful special occasion dresses this season, in a unique style. They are well priced, but if you are still concerned about spending this much, they do have clearance stores that are heavily discounted. Lace always adds to the sophistication of an outfit. I would team these dresses with a cute lace fascinator and pearls, to add to the lady like element.

Black and White

Race Dresses Black and White

1. Leona Edmiston Millicent – $159 | 2. Sheike Havanna Maxi Dress – $199.95 | 3. Seed V Neck Dress – $199.95 | 4. Cue Mirror Paisley Spliced Dress – $295

These last four dresses are a little bit different. The Leona Edmiston dress would be suited to Melbourne’s weather and their four seasons in one day! If you are petite, a maxi dress can still be for you. Try to choose one that does not overwhelm your body with fabric, and consider boosting your height with wedge shoes or sandals. The Seed dress would be incredibly versatile, and could be teamed with a belt, worn over the satin waist line. A statement necklace would also look wonderful with this neckline. I was drawn to the unique print of the last Cue dress, and think it would look great teamed with simple sparkling accessories, and statement shoes.

While I won’t be attending any race days this year, it was fun to window shop for Jess! My friend Sonia at Sonia Styling is talking Spring racing shoes on her blog this week, if you need some inspiration in that department too.

Are you attending any Spring racing events this year? What will you be wearing?

* If you have a Reader Riddle question, please email me at styleunearthed@gmail.com

11 thoughts on “Dresses for the Spring Racing Carnival

  1. I adore black and white – so timeless and sophisticated. I’m particularly fond of all the lace frocks around at the moment. Feminine with just the right amount of sexy. Great picks, Sarah! And thank you for linking to me. x

  2. I’m so bummed to be missing out on Spring Carnival this year, but I’m thinking of going BIG next year and heading to Melbourne. If I was going – I LOVE an excuse to wear an all white dress – since you can’t really get away with them at weddings/engagements, there are few occasions to really rock s glam all white dress – and I love that you can easily change the accessories for completely different looks…

  3. Loved your picks there Sarah! Black and white are such easy and classic combinations! I think seeing that Derby Day is traditionally a black & white affair, as ladies, we can go crazy with our make up with either smouldering eyes or hot coloured lips!

  4. Loooove all your picks Sarah – what a fantastic black and white collection! I haven’t been to any races for about 5 years sadly. I dream of going to the Melbourne Cup (or just a race day at Randwick) at some point in the future. Maybe when my boys are at school…. How good are Cue dresses!! Love them.

Leave a Reply

