Black Pants for Work and Play

I have talked many times about the troubles I have finding pants that are long enough for me. It has been a frequent frustration for years – from school uniforms to work pants to jeans. At 5’10” (and a half!) or 178cm, I am taller than the average woman, and my height is all in my legs. I do enjoy being tall, but it can make shopping a big pain. I have featured Long Tall Sally clothing before on the blog, and a few weeks ago I was asked if I would like to try a piece from their new Autumn/Winter collection. I jumped at the chance, and while it was a hard choice, the obvious ones was some black work pants that would actually be long enough for me. This year I have been wearing more fitted pants, and the heavy jersey slim trouser * looked perfect.

As always with online shopping, I was a little apprehensive about the sizing. The fact that they are from the United Kingdom also made me wonder about what the fit would be like as they can sometimes differ, but Long Tall Sally’s sizing is inline with Australia’s. I chose the size 10 – I would normally wear a 12 in pants, but was told that the sizes run a little large. Luckily, they fit like a glove, and the other fantastic thing is that they are actually too long. Never before have I had to say that about pants. They have a 36″ inseam, which is fantastic for me. Some other pants on Long Tall Sally have a variety of leg lengths. The pants are made of jersey, so they are a little stretchy and incredibly comfortable. They are easy to bend and crouch in, which is perfect for teaching as I frequently work on the floor with students. I thought maybe the fabric would be a little thick, but they are a nice weight and wouldn’t be too hot for the Australian Spring. They have a zip, button and hook closure, making them feel nice and secure, and fit really well around the hips. I don’t like wearing pants that are too low for work, so these are perfect.

I decided to play around and style them in a couple of different ways – for work, and for a date night. First we have how I would choose to wear them for work.

IMG_0363

I have had a lot wear out of this Peter Morrissey blouse from last season at Big W. It is light weight and great for Summer. It has a cute tuxedo front, so can be worn out for a more casual look, or tucked in like above. The shoes are Marc by Marc Jacobs, and my bag is from Forever New. All are past pieces. You know I love simple, classic colours and you can’t go wrong with black and white for work. I always keep my accessories simple as well, with stud earrings, a statement bracelet and a watch.

IMG_0372

My date night outfit consists of lots of Target pieces! The top is from the City Dressing line and can be found here. I had coveted the blazer for a while (I love the bright colour) and finally bought it when I was in Melbourne last week. I can’t find the exact match online, but you can find similar in the City Dressing range. The shoes are also from Target but bought last year. I wore the top with jeans last weekend for dinner, and it was lovely to wear. It can also be worn for work, and is a very versatile piece.

I also put together a couple of mood boards with some more inspiration about what to team black pants with for work and for a date night.

Black Pants For Work

1. Long Tall Sally Heavy Jersey Slim Pants – $90.75 | 2. Sportscraft Signature Pinstripe Linen Blazer – $299.95 | 3. Forever New Nikita Tank – $69.99 | 4. Brittany by Cassidy Comfort at Payless – $14 (on sale) | 5. Target Frill Sleeve Shell Top – $25 | 6. Portmans Colour Me Up Tank – $59.95 | 7. Diana Ferrari Ulmer heel – $149.95

The pants look very smart for work, and will look nice and sharp with a coloured blazer. They have the length to be worn with heels or flats. I love the three tops I found, especially the Portmans tank. The colour is nice and fresh and perfect for Spring.

Black Pants for Date Night

1. Long Tall Sally Heavy Jersey Slim Pants – $90.75 | 2. Sheike Audrey Blouse – $49 (on sale) | 3. Country Road Tabard Shell Top – $149 | 4. Betts Vanquish dress shoe – $139.99 | 5. Portmans Colour Block Cami – $49.95 | 6. Mix Apparel Button Down Blouse – $15 | 7. Betts Kiki Heel – $99.99

Another very black and white palette, with some serious pops of colour from the Sheike blouse and the fabulous floral heels from Betts. These outfits could be work for drinks with the girls, or a special dinner out. The Mix Apparel top is a huge bargain, and would be suited to work or play.

Black pants are one of those must-have classic pieces that should always be in your wardrobe. Finding the perfect pair can often be very tricky, but I think I finally may have decided on mine!

Are you a tall girl? Do you have trouble finding trousers to fit? How do you style your black plants?

* This item was given to me by Long Tall Sally for editorial consideration.

8 thoughts on “Black Pants for Work and Play

  1. I have the opposite problem- I’m short as anything, and lazy about going in to have pants taken up. Valley Girl used to make a GREAT pair of black pants. I went in there a few months ago to get some, and the store assistant said that she knew exactly what I was talking about, but they stopped making them. Bah Humbug.

Leave a Reply

