Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

This past weekend we went to a family gathering, and I offered to bring something dairy free so the kids would know there was something they could definitely eat. A few weeks ago I picked up a couple of bags of Sweet William dairy free choc chips when they were on special, and have been waiting for the time to make something. I’m not much of a baker, so I surprised myself on Monday morning when I whipped up some dairy free chocolate and caramel muffins (from a packet mix) and some dairy free chocolate chip cookies (from scratch, thank you very much!). Now, I don’t know about you, but when I eat cookies I like them to be slightly chewy. I’ve only just started to master this art – leave them on the tray for about three minutes when you get them out of the oven, and let them cool on a wire rack. Otherwise they keep cooking and will end up crunchy.

I don’t have a standard recipe that I use, so this time I Googled and found this one from All Recipes. I changed a few small parts to make them dairy free, but the cookies were tasty. The recipe made 24 cookies.

Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

125 grams of dairy free spread/Nuttelex

1 cup brown sugar (I used half brown sugar, and half raw sugar as that is what I had in the house)

1/4 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla essence (I used slightly less of extract as that is what I had)

1 cup self raising flour

3/4 cup plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup dairy free chocolate chips (I used Sweet William brand, and one packet almost filled a cup)

Method

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius.

Melt dairy free spread in the microwave (it took about 40 seconds in my microwave).

Transfer dairy free spread in a large mixing bowl, and stir in the sugar slowly until most of the sugar has dissolved.

Lightly whisk the egg, and add it to the sugar mixture, along with the vanilla.

Sift the flours and baking powder into the bowl, stirring it into the sugar mixture as you go until it becomes more of a dough-like consistency.

Stir through the dairy free chocolate chips.

Cover two baking trays with baking paper, and roll balls of the dough.

Place them on the trays, pressing them lightly with a fork to squash them.

Place the cookies in the oven for 12 minutes or until golden brown (I cooked mine for about 15-17 minutes).

Leave cookies on a baking tray for a further three minutes, before transferring them to a wire cooling tray.

Enjoy!

IMG_0376

The dough used for these biscuits could be used with many other fillings, including white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts, cranberries, sultanas, or other nuts and seeds. While they are quite sugar laden, they do taste very good (surprise, surprise!). I came across another recipe containing apple puree and oats that I am keen to try, but didn’t have all the ingredients in the house. I will definitely share it with you once I have tried it. The best thing about this is that you definitely can’t tell they are dairy free. The chocolate chips are great for cooking as they melt a little, but still keep their shape. I think we will be making these ones again!

Do you have a go-to cookie recipe? Care to share?

One thought on “Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

