How to Style a Classic White Shirt

* This post is sponsored by Hawes and Curtis

A classic white shirt, along with great black pants, perfect jeans and a well fitted blazer is always on the ‘wardrobe staple’ list of many fashion magazines and stylists. It is such a versatile piece and can take you from a shopping trip, to a casual lunch with friends, or to the office. Over the years I have bought a few white collared shirts, and I have recently been on the look out for a new one to add to my wardrobe. When I received an email from Hawes and Curtis offering me one of their shirts to try it was easy to choose one from their extensive range. I had lots of fun styling my white shirt, and it fitted with many existing items I already had in my cupboard. My shirt arrived in less than a week from the UK, nicely presented in a gift box. It was a lovely surprise waiting when I got home from work.

IMG_0418_2

The brand was established in 1913 in Jermyn Street, London, and began as a gentlemen’s brand that attracted the attention of the Royal family. While the company is steeped in tradition, they like to stay ahead of the style curve offering fashionable and high quality cotton shirts in a variety of prints, colours and arm lengths. They also sell gorgeous accessories including bags (to die for!), cufflinks and scarves.

IMG_0406

The first look that I played with was a business one. I teamed my shirt with a patterned pencil skirt from Target, black wedge heels and a Swarovski necklace. A slightly open collared shirt looks great with a statement necklace. You could choose a toned down version for the office, and you could have lots of fun with a bright necklace to jazz up a more casual outfit. The shirt is short enough to be worn out, but I love the look of it tucked in. You could also add a belt for a splash of colour. I found some patterned skirts that would look great with a classic white shirt.

White Shirt and Patterned Skirt

Hawes and Curtis Slim Fitted Shirt – $62.95 (on sale) | 1. Target City Dressing Scuba Tube Skirt – $40 | 2. Country Road Tropical Print Skirt – $129 | 3. Sportscraft Signature Polka Dot Skirt – $169.95 | 4. Portmans Prudence Caroline Sateen Skirt – $89.95

Floral printed skirts seem to be everywhere this season, with both pencil and flared styles in many stores. I prefer the pencil look for the office, as it is more streamlined. A flared skirt with heels would look fantastic with the shirt tucked in and worn with a pair of heels. It would be a perfect outfit for a girly high tea or cocktails with friends.

IMG_0416

The second look I played with was a casual one. I teamed my shirt with a pair of cuffed jeans, tan shoes and a stack of turquoise bangles for a splash of colour. The shirt has a double cuff that requires cuff links, but for the casual look I rolled the sleeves up to just below my elbows. It gives off a more relaxed vibe, and lends itself to an ‘arm party’ with a stack of bangles or bracelets. You could also choose some bright Summer sandals or cute ballet flats to complete a relaxed look.

Casual White Shirt Outfit

Hawes and Curtis Slim Fitted Shirt – $62.95 (on sale) | 1. Jeans West Poppy Skinny 7/8 Jeans – $79.99 | 2. Simply Chic Bangle Set from simplychic on Etsy – $39.77 | 3. Betts Sunlight Sandal – $79.99

A pair of 7/8 jeans would be the perfect companion for the shirt in this outfit. Being Spring, you could also team it with a pair of cuffed denim or cotton shorts. Boyfriend jeans would also suit this look, with a light denim wash. I love the bracelet stack I found on Etsy, with the intricate gold detailing and the splash of colour. Again, a statement necklace would be great for this look. You could wear this outfit shopping, for lunch with friends, or also to the office for casual Friday.

IMG_0410

The last look I experimented with was one with simple slim leg black pants, heels and a silk scarf. I have a big collection of scarves, and especially love wearing them during Winter. They really dress up an outfit. I inherited some from my Grandma, which are very precious. The scarf in this picture was actually an eBay find, and is by Pierre Balmain. One of the things I love about patterned scarves is that you can change the look depending on the way you fold it, which is great when there are lots of different colours featured.

White Shirt & Silk Scarf

Hawes and Curtis Slim Fitted Shirt – $62.95 (on sale) | 1. Trent Nathan Floral Scarf – $29.96 (on sale) | 2. Marc Rozier Polka Dot Silk Scarf – $74.25 (on sale) | 3. Oroton Riviera Silk Scarf – $195 | 4. Kate Spade Six Month Stripe Scarf – $133.29

Silk scarves are a fantastic way to brighten up an outfit. There are lots of beautiful hand painted offerings on Etsy, or a large variety in chain stores. A quick search on Pinterest will help you figure out how to tie your scarf – there are so many different ways! You can pop it under or over your collar, or even tie it onto your handbag for an extra splash of colour.

If you don’t have a white collared shirt in your wardrobe yet, what are you waiting for? It’s a fantastic piece to have, and can be worn for many different occasions, as demonstrated above. Have fun, and accessorise away!

Which is your favourite classic white shirt look? How do you style your white shirt?

* This post is sponsored by Hawes and Curtis. I was given a shirt of my choice for editorial consideration, in accordance with my disclosure policy. 

11 thoughts on “How to Style a Classic White Shirt

  1. Gorgeous Sarah. I love all your outfits but my favourite is the white shirt/black pants combo so classic. I find shirts a hard thing to buy (am in desperate need of a few) but am very very tempted by the ones at Hawes & Curtis. Such beautiful options.

  2. All great looks! I struggle with the white shirt look- I’m bigger busted and smaller waist-ed, and haven’t yet had success with a shirt that doesn’t gape around the buttons. If I find one that doesn’t gape around the buttons, it’s huge on my shoulders/arms. Sigh. One day, right?

Leave a Reply

