What I Wore – Patterned Maxi Dress

I love a good maxi dress, especially an extra long one! They were very on-trend last Summer, and I’m pleased to report that they haven’t gone away. They’re perfect for a warm day, and can be dressed up for cocktails or down for a day of shopping with friends. There are a huge variety of patterns and colours to choose from.

On the weekend we decided to go for a day trip to the Blue Mountains. There is a fantastic vegan cafe we wanted to pay a return visit to (there will be a review later in the week), and we joined the tourists to visit the Three Sisters as well. It was such a gorgeous Spring day, and quite warm, so a maxi dress was the perfect choice.

IMG_0459_2

Last year, I saw a patterned maxi dress on the cover of the Big W catalogue that I loved the look of. It’s from the Peter Morrissey women range. I stalked two stores until I found it in my size, and snapped it up. It is made from a satin-like fabric, and it’s a great dress for the Christmas party season. For this outing, I paired it with tan flats I bought at Betts last season (and you have seen a million times before), and a bag found at some markets last year. Sunglasses were an essential – mine are from Tory Burch and you can find similar here (on sale!).

Unfortunately there are no similar maxi dresses in the Peter Morrissey collection this year, so I have scoped out some alternatives. I might just put a couple on my Christmas list.

Maxi Dress Collage

1. St Frock Pastel Rain Maxi Dress – $59. I loved the pastel colours in this dress. The tie will help define the waist, which is good if you want a little bit more structure to your dress. It features adjustable straps, and is made from polyester. It has a runner-style back, and could be worn with a strapless or convertible bra.

2. Sportscraft Rosalie Maxi Dress – $199.95 (pre-order available). This dress is absolutely beautiful. At the moment, it is available for pre-order only, but will be in stores and online on 11 November. It is made from viscose rayon and is very light weight, making it perfect for warmer days. While it is on the expensive side, it could be worn for a garden wedding or an end of year event.

3. Witchery Gold Trim Maxi Dress – $149.95. I was walking past our new re-vamped Witchery store today, and this beauty caught my eye. I know I’m always attracted to monochrome, but the gold trim adds a little something extra to this dress. It is Grecian inspired, and falls beautifully from the waist. Definitely a must-try!

4. Get Frocked Eternal Soul Maxi – $55. This maxi looks extra long, which is a plus for a tall girl like me! It’s a one size fits most arrangement, but this is great when it comes to the relaxed look for dresses. Paired with gold sandals, it would make the perfect be beachy outfit.

5. Target Etched Floral Maxi Dress – $69. I liked this dark coloured dress too – it has a hint of the tropical look to it, without the overt colours. As a teacher, it would be fantastic for work or end of year presentation assemblies. The thick straps and higher neckline would be well suited to a smart-casual work wardrobe.

6. Erin Louise Turquoise Palms Maxi – $65. Erin Louise first came on to my radar last year when my sister in law bought some of their dresses and singlets. I started following them on Facebook, and I love their fun, casual style. This dress is made from cotton polyester and can fit a size 8 to 22. Erin Louise offer three hour delivery in Sydney, which is perfect when you’ve got nothing to wear in the morning, and an event in the evening!

Do you have any maxi dresses in your wardrobe? Which one in the collection above is your favourite?

11 thoughts on “What I Wore – Patterned Maxi Dress

  1. I’ve got quite a few maxi dresses – such a staple for summer I think! Love no.4! Good thing it’s not too expensive 🙂

  2. You look beautiful Sarah. Stunning back drop too! I also love number 4 and such a great price. I have been looking for a maxi I could wear to work and number 5 might just be a good option with a few accessories to dress it up.

Leave a Reply

