Five Great Movies to Watch at Christmas

Do you have favourite movies that always put you in the Christmas spirit? I have been watching a few favourites over the past few weeks, and thought I would share five great movies to watch at Christmas with you.

The Holiday

I love a good feel good movie, and this has to be my number one. Iris (Kate Winslet) is a victim of unrequited love, and decides to participate in a house swap with Amanda (Cameron Diaz) at Christmas. She thinks a week in LA will be just what the doctor ordered. I love the characters and the story line, where love wins in the end. The score, written by Hans Zimmer, is also fantastic and is integral to telling the story.

Love Actually

In December of 2002 I went to the United Kingdom after finishing high school. I went ice skating with my cousin in London on a freezing Winter’s night, in the rain, which saw us drying our hair afterwards under the hand driers in a cozy pub. We had a cold Christmas, with the full English dinner and then toured Europe. The next year, Love Actually was released at Christmas time, and watching it takes me back to that holiday. The ice skating rink features in one of the shots (and in the above trailer). The ensemble cast is fantastic, and watching is always sure to guarantee a laugh and a tear or two.

Elf

Elf is the perfect movie for both adults and kids – there are plenty of jokes aimed at the that go over their heads, but a fair share for them to enjoy as well. We watched it on the weekend and all chuckled along together. Will Ferrell is fantastic as Buddy the Elf, a human adopted by Papa Elf in the North Pole, who goes on to search for his biological father in New York City. Get your maple syrup ready, and prepare to have a chuckle.

Miracle on 34th Street

I have linked to the 1994 version here, but either version is great. If you’re lucky you will be able to find them in a double boxed set. Set in New York, Susan meets a very special department store Santa and discovers that Christmas wishes really can come true. This is a lovely one to watch with the whole family, especially near Christmas Eve.

Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special

While it’s not a movie, the Gavin and Stacey Christmas special is essential Christmas viewing in my book. I love this series, written by Ruth Jones and James Corden who also star as Nessa and Smithy. It is set in England and Wales, and chronicles the romance between the two titular characters. The cast is hilarious, and the characters endearing. Do yourself a favour, and watch all three seasons. You can find the Christmas special at the end of season two.

What movies or TV shows do you find yourself watching over and over at Christmas?

Any recommendations for me to add to my list?

2 thoughts on “Five Great Movies to Watch at Christmas

  1. I was originally going to say I don’t really like Christmas movies but I really really like Love Actually and The Holiday … so it appears I do. You learn something new every day! 😉 For the past few years I have got the latest season of Mad Men on DVD and I watch that back to back. Fingers crossed it happens this year too! Not really a Christmas movie/show but it reminds me of Christmas.

  2. LOVE Love Actually! I watch it every time they have a re-run on tv. Great Christmas movie and I cry every single time at the part where Emma Thompson’s character realised her husband bought the necklace for someone else. 😦

Leave a Reply

