Five Books to Read This Summer

I have always loved to read. As a child, I used to hide out in my bedroom, in the hammock or on the trampoline (used for reading on, not bouncing!) to finish just one more chapter. Much to my own disgust, most of the time I am not an intellectual reader. I read for escapism, I love humour, and I love all things ‘feel good’. You can’t beat the warm and fuzzy feeling when you fall in love with characters in a book. This year I haven’t had as much time to read as I would like, but I am looking forward to have plenty of time to bury my nose in a book or two.

Today I am sharing five books to read this Summer. I have put a few of these on my Christmas list, and will be adding a few to read on my iPad as well.

Patricia Cornwell

Flesh and Blood – Patricia Cornwell

This is Cornwell’s 22nd Kay Scarpetta novel. The most recent novels have been released around Christmas time, and I now look forward to a new book to read each Christmas break. Flesh and Blood follows the story of a mysterious sniper who leaves few clues and no crime scene. Scarpetta tracks him across three states in an attempt to solve the mystery. I am looking forward to getting to the bottom of this one!

Marian Keyes

The Woman Who Stole My Life – Marian Keyes

Marian Keyes is one of my favourite authors, and I could read and re-read her books many times over. Truth be told, I have read all of them at least once. I first picked up one of her books in Paris, and proceeding to spend my flight home falling in love with the characters, and really disliking others! The Woman Who Stole My Life chronicles the journey of Stella, a self-help author, who has returned to Ireland from her book tour in New York. The reader is left wondering why Stella has returned to Ireland so soon, and who her mysterious caller is. Hopefully this book is Keyes back to her best.

Amy Poehler

Yes Please – Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler has always tickled my funny bone. I have loved watching her on Saturday Night Live and Parks and Recreation. Her book has won the 2014 Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Humour, and includes hilarious stories, poetry, jokes and advice. I think this will be perfect as a beachside book, with light reading and plenty of laughs.

Buddhism for Mothers

The Complete Buddhism for Mothers – Sarah Napthali

I have had Buddhism for Mothers and Buddhism for Mothers of Young Children sitting in my bedside table drawer for the best part of five years. I have dipped in and out of them, taken advice when I have needed it, and then returned them for safe keeping. These holidays I will aim to read them all the way through and finish them, putting the advice into practice. This publication includes the two books mentioned above, along with Buddhism for Mothers of School Children, which I intend to read after I finish the first two. It really has some wonderful advice, and no matter what religion you follow it will encourage mindfulness when with your children and help you be the best parent you can be.

Stephen Covey

The Leader in Me – Stephen R. Covey

While this may not be a relaxing read, it certainly is an inspiring one. I read the first edition of this book several years ago, but am looking forward to reading the updated version which contains case studies from Leader in Me schools from around the world, including Australia. The Leader in Me teaches teachers to bring out the best in their students using the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People program. It really does have positive benefits for kids, and even if you’re sceptical please give it a go. Be prepared to be inspired!

What books will you be reading this Summer? What should I add to my reading list?

One thought on “Five Books to Read This Summer

  1. The book by Marian Keyes looks interesting. I’ve read a few of her books and don’t mind her writing at all. Might put that on my “to-read” list!

Leave a Reply

