12 Weeks to Calm

Buddha Quote

The last few weeks of 2014 saw me in a frazzled mess. That’s probably the best way to describe it. This time in 2013 was a very hard time and the memories of that didn’t help. Work was busy, life was busy and I neglected my health. I was searching for a quote to include in this post, and the one above from Buddha could not have been more perfect – To keep the body in good health is a duty…otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear. I have decided that for the next 12 weeks I am going to undertake a personal challenge to find and maintain my equilibrium – 12 Weeks to Calm – and I would absolutely love it if you could to join me.

Anxiety has been part of my life since I was a child. I have always been an anxious person who over thinks things, and most of the time I am okay. When I am stressed, tired or not looking after myself my over thinking brain gets on top of me. It has only taken me 30 years, but I have finally worked out my triggers and 2015 will be the year that I fix them.

I am going to put practices into place that I know make me feel good both inside and out, stop making excuses for myself, and ultimately put my health first. Without a clear mind and healthy body I am no good to anybody, so despite the fact that I am a wife, mother, daughter, friend and employee I need to stop ignoring the negative signs that my body gives me, put my health first and fix them.

How Will I Do This?

The 12 Weeks To Calm is about making a commitment to your health inside and out. As everybody does this in different ways, it is up to you how you would like to make it work. I am planning to focus on the following areas – food, exercise, meditation and relaxation. Eating well, limiting caffeine and alcohol and eating frequently are all things that help me feel good. Regular exercise is also a must – I treat it as my me time and without it I find I feel frazzled very quickly. I bought my husband a subscription to Dr Jim Stoppani’s website for Christmas and he has been urging me to have a look at what it has to offer. There are lots of different exercise and nutrition programs available, and I think I will try one to give myself a kick start.

This week I bought an Active Living planner from Lorna Jane. It helps you track your food, movement and mindset over a 12 week period which will perfect for this project. There are places to record your progress (both mental and physical), set goals and plenty of tips to help you along your way.

IMG_0505_2

I am looking forward to tracking my food and movement, finding new recipes to experiment with, and trying the workouts that are included in the planner.

IMG_0506_2

I also plan to keep meditating each night before I go to sleep, finally setting up my zen garden on our balcony, and practicing yoga a few times a week. Both yoga and meditation really help me reset and calm my mind, and I have become healthily reliant on them.

Listening to and playing music are both things I love, and I will be making more time for both this year. I have played the clarinet since I was in primary school, and have started teaching myself the saxophone as well. It’s great to stretch my mind a little, and I am looking forward to playing more.

How Can You Join In?

Each week I will update on my progress in a blog post – things I have tried, what is working well for me and what I need to change, recipes, exercises, tips and tricks. If you would like to join in you can comment on these posts, or join in the blog link up that will accompany each post. I will also pop pictures on Instagram (you can follow me here) and post on Facebook (here) and you can add your pictures and posts with the hashtag #12weekstocalm to join in the conversation.

I hope the 12 Weeks to Calm challenge will be beneficial for many people, not just myself, and I really hope that you can join me.

What helps you restore equilibrium and make you calm? Will you be joining in the challenge?

14 thoughts on “12 Weeks to Calm

  1. Fabulous idea Sarah, I’m putting my health first this year too! Happy to say I started the day with half an hour of yoga, a green juice and am now spending the afternoon baking vegan/fructose free biscuits for my teething bub! Here’s to health in 2015!

  2. I’ve been putting my health first since I think 2 years ago. And when I stopped caring a few months, I could feel and see the difference in my body, my moods, everything. Great idea Sarah! My goal is to do some form of exercise at least 3 times a week. That’s AT LEAST! And limit my snacking of “sometimes” food.

  3. I’ve just been given the go slow ok on returning to exercise after more than a year off, due to health issues. I’m determined for it not to end up all or nothing, with a view to just moving more than the day before and finding better more low key ways to exercise.

Leave a Reply

