What I Wore & The Style It Project

I have two posts in one today – What I Wore & The Style It Project.

This Christmas we decided to buy a family present, and gave ourselves a Merlin Annual Pass each. It allows us to enter 11 attractions around Sydney and interstate, including aquariums, Wildlife World and Sydney Tower. We have made a promise to visit one attraction a month, with a couple squeezed in during school holidays. On Sunday we visited the Manly Sea Life Sanctuary. We all loved looking at the Little Penguins, sharks, an enormous sea turtle and the brightly coloured fish. Our highlight were the cuttlefish – we’ve never seen them up close and personal before, and they were actually very cute little creatures!

The weather in Sydney was beautiful over the weekend, and Sunday was really quite warm. It was perfect weather to enjoy a gelato while watching everyone play at the beach. I decided to go for a classic look with light denim, a breton stripe top and tan sandals.

IMG_0568_2

Lee Cooper Denim jeans from Big W (similar here and here), Emerson tank (last season, but Breton strip tee here), Lila by Corelli sandals, Ocean and Earth hat (similar here).

I’ve been wearing these jeans to death since I bought them just before Christmas. They are light enough to wear when it is hot, and are incredibly comfortable. They are great with flats for a relaxed look, but could also be dressed with wedges or heels for a night out.

The second outfit I wore this week lets me join in with the January Style It Project. Each month, Rachel from Redcliffe Style and Kim-Marie from Kimba Likes choose a piece of clothing and ask people to show how they would style it. This month they chose the Falling Flowers kimono from Bohemian Traders, but asked people to show off their own kimonos as well. You can share your style on Instagram (using the hashtag #styleitproject), Facebook or your blog.

I bought this kimono three years ago when I had just had my daughter and had a wedding to attend. I wanted something I could wear again, was easy to breastfed in, and flattered my post-delivery figure. I also wore it to my daughter’s christening, and have worn in numerous times since.

IMG_0567

 Jeans West kimono (you can see their range here), Jeans West skinny jeans (similar here), white long sleeved Target top, Betts flats (last season), slightly blurry photo taken by my 6 year old!

I love the versatility of kimono tops. They can be worn year round as part of so many different outfits. I love to wear a similar version of this outfit in Winter with brown or black ankle boots, but it is great in Summer with shorts and flats.

What outfits have you been wearing lately? Feel free to share a picture in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

