Healthy, Delicious Meals

Robert Urich Quote

 

Since starting my 12 Weeks to Calm project I have been making a conscious effort to eat well, and it really has been making a big difference. The holidays just gone were definitely not a good time for healthy eating – chips, ice cream and chocolate all featured somewhere. My body and mind needed a good re-boot, so we cleared the pantry of junk and researched some healthy meals. While I am tracking calories again I have also been tracking macros, making sure I am meeting my nutritional needs for the day. You can find out more about tracking your nutrition here. I am aiming to get more protein in my diet, and eating more balanced meals. By eating in this way and allowing myself treats along the way, I know it is a sustainable way to be. I certainly can’t live without a chocolate each night for dessert. I wanted to share some of my favourite healthy, delicious meals with you, and hopefully you can return the favour!

Healthy Breakfasts

IMG_0582_2

If you haven’t tried overnight oats yet, you definitely should. My husband has been making them for us, and it takes him about 5 minutes before we go to bed. We use this recipe and it is incredibly good. You can top it with extra fruit if you wish – I love strawberries or a frozen mixed berry combo. Some coconut chips could also be added for some crunch if you wish. This breakfast fills me up until late morning, and it’s the perfect after-workout fuel. At 238 calories, it’s the perfect way to start the day.

IMG_0580_2

Another favourite is a third of a cup of quick oats cooked in the microwave for two minutes (one minute, add more milk, then another minute). If you want the oats with a bit of a twist, add light coconut milk and top with strawberries – delicious! Last week I also added a protein and berry shake. It made for a really filling breakfast.

Healthy Lunches

IMG_0581_2

Meat substitutes are often frowned on by vegetarians and vegans, but they really help me add to my protein intake without eating a million beans or chickpeas. As a teacher, I have really limited time at lunch so often end up eating a sandwich or salad.  One quick way to get protein and veggies is a veggie patty and some steamed veggies. They’re full of vitamins and minerals, and taste fantastic. Zap them in the microwave for two minutes, and you’ve got yourself a healthy and delicious lunch.

IMG_0585_2

I will confess that I didn’t make this lunch, but it would be relatively easy if you have some time to spend cooking on a weekend. We visited a cafe and I chose a tasting platter. It had baked veggies, quinoa balls topped with haloumi, and delicious multigrain bread with a choice of two dips. I enjoyed sampling different flavours, but my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach!

Healthy Dinners

IMG_0583_2

This lentil pie is one of our firm family favourites. We top it with sweet potato, potato or pastry (definitely not the healthiest option, but okay if you’re only using pastry on the top). I’ve been making lots of sweet potato chips to go with dinners – just chop them to your desired size, spray with a little extra virgin olive oil, and sprinkle with some salt. They’re so good!

IMG_0579_2

I’ve always been a big pizza fan. Last week we had made some multigrain wraps, and had a few left over. We decided to use the wraps as bases, which was a great choice at 138 calories for a whole wrap. I like to top mine with sun dried tomatoes, olives, mushrooms, pineapple, capsicum and a bit of cheese. We also made garlic bread from pane de casa. I think the wraps as bases will be on regular rotation!

Healthy Drinks

IMG_0584_2

I mentioned in another post that I have not had caffeine since the start of January. I’ve fallen back in love with sparkling water, and I’m drinking it by the bucketload. An ice cold glass of still water is the perfect thirst quencher, though!

What healthy recipes have you been enjoying lately? What is your favourite drink?

Leave a Reply

