Three Low Impact Workouts

Three Low Impact Workouts

Recently I have really been enjoying High Impact Interval Training (HIIT) workouts. They are fun, and they really burn through calories. After spraining my ankle last week and being told I can’t do weight bearing exercise for six weeks, I have had to look for other alternatives. I knew I wouldn’t be able to not exercise for a month and a half, and I was in a good routine that I didn’t want to break! I’m sharing three low impact workouts to try, and all of them can be done at home.

1. Pilates

While this trailer doesn’t show pilates, it does give you a look at some of the other workouts Daily Burn has. Pilates is the newest program in their stable, and it’s great. It takes you through the classic moves that founder Joseph Pilates created that help to strengthen your core and build lean muscle. With a tiny bit of modification (planks and push ups on my knees, rather that my toes) I am still able to complete the workouts, as long as I start from sitting. The workouts average around 20 minutes in length, but are still incredibly effective. You can try Daily Burn free of charge for a month by using the code Free30.

2. At Home Ladder Workout

20 minute ladder workout

One of the most challenging workouts I have done is a ladder workout. You start out with 10 reps of various exercises, working your way down through circuits of nine reps, eight reps, and so on, until you get to one. If you work yourself hard (and you will!) you will earn yourself a rest in between sets. While I can’t do the normal ladder workout at the moment due to the burpees, lunges and squats, I decided to make my own version. I started with push ups on my knees, full sit ups, shoulder presses with weights (full water bottles or even canned veg will do if you don’t have weights), bicep curls, tricep dips on the edge of a bed or table, and a 30 second plank. While the workout didn’t sound too hard when I first started compared to what I usually do, I did still work up a sweat, which was great! The reps between 1o and six seem to take a long time, and then they fly. I also do the last two sets at one time for an extra challenge.

3. Customised Weights Program

IMG_0613_2

If you want to work specific body parts and still raise your heart rate, weights may just be for you. I will be heading to the physio this week to see what exercises I can do with my legs – arms, shoulders, chest and abdominals will all be fine. If you want a customised weights plan for your level of fitness or injury requirements, check with the trainer at your gym. Most gyms provide a free assessment and program every six months, so it is the perfect time to reassess your exercise goals and current needs. If you don’t belong to a gym, there are many programs you can follow online. Medicine balls and free weights are relatively inexpensive and available at chain and sports stores.

What type of exercise do you enjoy? Have you modified your exercise program when you have been injured?

* Please check with your medical practitioner before starting any exercise program.

Leave a Reply

