An On-Trend Outfit for Under $100

Most people I know have to work with a budget when it comes to their wardrobe. It would be lovely to win Lotto and to be able to not think before I make a new purchase, but at the end of the day this is not the reality for many of us. The majority of my clothes come from chain stores, and at the moment this more than suits my lifestyle. With two young children, and a job where I work with children, I need hard wearing clothes that don’t cost the earth. No Louboutin heels or Chanel suits for this girl’s wardrobe! With budget talk in mind, today I am sharing an on-trend outfit for under $100.

Tartan is continuing to feature this Autumn and Winter, mostly in the form of the tartan or plaid button down shirt. They seem to be everywhere, both in thin cotton and a brushed cotton version. I have been on the search for the perfect pattern for a few weeks now, and found one at Cotton On over the weekend. It is a thin fabric which makes it a great trans-seasonal piece. I can wear it over a singlet or long sleeved shirt, and layer a knitted jumper over it when the weather gets cooler.

IMG_0623

You only have to search Pinterest to see lots of ideas about how to wear tartan shirts, and I went for a relaxed option with cuffed skinny jeans and sneakers. It’s the perfect outfit for weekend brunches and running errands. I’m still living in the land of sensible shoes after hurting my ankle, so it’s important to wear something stable. The shirt can be worn in a variety of ways (buttoned and loose, open with a singlet underneath, tied around the waist over a white tee) – I’ve worn mine buttoned and loose today with the sleeve rolled up and neck open. I kept accessories simple with a chunky rose gold watch and a fine gold infinity ring. In Winter, I will look forward to wearing the shirt with skinny jeans, ankle boots and my vegan leather bomber jacket.

On Trend Outfit

On-trend outfit for under $100: 1. Cotton On Carolina button down – $29.95 | 2. Target lace up canvas shoes – $15 | 3. Target basic stretch tank top – $9 | 4. FlowerLovejj Infinity ring (Etsy) – $13.12 | 5.  Lee Cooper skinny jeans (last season) – $29

I love the versatility of this outfit and can’t wait to wear it a lot more this Autumn and Winter. There are plenty of other shirts in different prints and a similar style at Cotton On, and I think I will need to stock up on a couple more. They would look great with shorts in Summer, so can be worn as part of a lot of different outfits.

IMG_0620_2

Have you bought an on-trend outfit for under $100 lately? Where do you find your favourite bargains?

2 thoughts on “An On-Trend Outfit for Under $100

Leave a Reply

