12 Weeks to Calm – Week Eight

Spread your wings

 

Welcome to Week Eight – 12 Weeks to Calm.

Last Sunday I found myself alone in the gym. That doesn’t happen very often as I always seem to frequent it at busy times when there are always lots of people around. I took advantage of the empty room and tried some exercises I’d previously been too nervous to, in case I made a fool of myself. One of those exercises was the reclined sit up bench, and the other was the weighted chin up machine. I managed to get out quite a few reps on both, and as a result was incredibly proud of myself. I now have the confidence to use them again next time I go to the gym, and I have two new exercises to add to my regular program.

This week I have a challenge for you – to try a new exercise. Is there something that you’ve always wanted to try but have put it off? This is the week to change that. Some things obviously aren’t feasible (I would love to give stand up paddle boarding a go, which isn’t going to fit into my week), so why not start with something small? It could be a walk on a different route, a seven minute exercise app, a HIIT workout or a new class at the gym. You could even try yoga, that we spoke about last week.

I would love it if you would share the results of the challenge, either by emailing me, or snapping a picture and tagging it with #12weekstocalm.

What new exercise are you going to try this week? Have you attempted something new recently? Please share your success!

Leave a Reply

