Five Must See TV Shows

One of the advantages of being forced to sit still recently after I hurt my ankle was catching up on television shows I have missed, and discovering new ones. Today I am sharing my five must see TV shows with you.

The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt


This hilarious new offering from Tina Fey follows the journey of Kimmy, a girl who has spent all of her adult life thus far trapped in a post-apocalypse bunker as part of a doomsday cult. After being rescued and visiting New York City for a television interview, she decides to stay there to make a new life. Kimmy lands a job, a theatrical room mate, and finds adventure in the every day tasks that are usually mundane. The episodes are only short, but they all contain Fey’s trademark wit. It’s definitely going to be one of the best shows of 2015.

The Mindy Project

This is one of my new discoveries, and I love it so much I binged on two and a bit seasons in a week. I had read about the writer and actress of the main role, Mindy Kailing on People’s website, but initially thought The Mindy Project was a reality show. I decided to watch the first episode when I was on couch arrest with my sprained ankle and the rest is history! The show is currently in it’s third season, so there’s lots to catch up on! Mindy Lahiri is an obstetrician/gynaecologist of Indian descent living in New York City. She is unlucky in love and constantly searching for her Prince Charming to try and emulate the romantic comedy movies she loves so much. There are lots of laughs (some with Mindy, and some at her expense), and a fair few warm fuzzies as well thrown in for good measure. The episodes are only 21 minutes long, so you can fit a fair few in during your night time viewing.

State of Affairs

Katherine Heigl stars as a CIA operative who is trying to avenge her fiance’s death. The twist is that her fiance was also the President of the United States’ son. It is an action based show, but there are a few love stories intertwined. I love mystery stories that keep you on your toes, and despite a couple of slower episodes here and there, State of Affairs will keep you guessing. It airs here in Australia on Channel 7, but you can also access it on NBC America or Hulu.

Jane the Virgin

Jane Villanueva is a 20-something woman who finds herself in a sticky situation. She visits her doctor for a check up of the female variety, and ends up being artificially inseminated, resulting in a surprise immaculate conception. Written in the style of a tele-novella, Jane the Virgin is both funny and heart warming. Each episode ends with ‘To Be Continued’, and I’m sure you will end up as sucked in as I am!

House of Cards

Kevin Spacey stars as congressman Francis Underwood in this political drama, based on an English show of the same name. The show follows the dirty tricks played out in American politics. Underwood’s wife Claire (played by Robin Wright) is privy to all his wheeling and dealing, and has a few secrets of her own. The third season has just premiered on Netflix. We’re up to season two, and I’m avoiding any spoilers until we can get through the rest of this season!

What are your must-see TV shows? Have you got anything new for me to discover?

One thought on “Five Must See TV Shows

  1. I love House of Cards! It took me a few episodes to get into it, but now I’m addicted. Trying to decide if we should watch Season Three as it airs, or wait and binge watch all at the end. #firstworldproblems

Leave a Reply

