Mixed Berry, Coconut and Apple Muffins

IMG_0671

 

I decided to do some back to school (and work) cooking this weekend. One batch of muesli slice and two types of muffin later, the freezer is stocked and ready to start packing lunches again. Last week I was sent a recipe book full of healthy meals, snacks and drinks featuring Bioglan Superfoods ingredients. You can buy a copy here. The recipes have been created by nutritionists and foodies from around Australia. I decided to try one of the muffin recipes, but altered it so it was nut free and safe for school.

I have included the original ingredients in brackets after the ones that I used. The muffins taste great, and the best thing is that they use healthy ingredients. I used My Fitness Pal to work out that they are 140 calories per muffin. They’ve been given the seal of approval by all family members, and are moist in the middle with crunch on top. Just the way I like my muffins!

Mixed Berry, Coconut and Apple Muffins

Serves 14

Ingredients

2 tablespoons Bioglan Chia Seeds

1/2 cup water

1 1/2 cups wholemeal plain flour

1 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup coconut sugar

1/3 shredded coconut

1 1/2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda

1 cup rice milk (the recipe called for almond milk)

1/3 cup Bioglan coconut oil, melted

125g mixed berries (the recipe called for blueberries)

1/3 cup toasted coconut chips (the recipe called for chopped almonds)

1 apple (this was my addition to the recipe)

Method

– Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line a muffin tin with muffin cases.

– Combine the chia seeds with the water and set aside for 10 minutes or until a gel is formed (this was the first time I had used chia seeds in this way. They floated to the top of the water, and really only formed a gel when I stirred them after the 10 minutes).

– Put the flour, oats, coconut sugar, coconut and bicarbonate of soda in a large bowl and stir to combine.

– Add the rice milk, coconut oil and soaked chia seeds to the dry ingredients. Stir until combined, then add the apple and blueberries.

– Spoon mixture into muffin cases and sprinkle coconut chips on top.

– Bake for about 25 minutes (I ended up baking mine for about 40 minutes as the apple made them quite dense) or until the muffins are holden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

IMG_0673_2

The author of this recipe is Robyn Birkin from Western Australia, and I hope she doesn’t mind me altering her recipe! My school is nut aware, and my son’s is nut free, so it made sense to omit the almonds and almond milk so we can enjoy them at school.

* I was given a copy of the cookbook for editorial consideration.

What are your favourite healthy snacks? Will you be trying these muffins?

Leave a Reply

